Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Spirit Caravan
The Last Embrace
December 2004
Released: 2004, Meteor City
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

Year-end wrap-up: Each of the last few years to wrap up the year I have picked a theme for my reviews for December. This year due to the overwhelming number of CD’s that deserve exposure, recognition and commentary I am going to resort to quantity over quality. I usually try to give as much attention to each CD with extensive commentary however this month’s reviews (perhaps unfortunately) will be short and sweet and much more in the style of traditional magazine reviews where space restrictions are an important factor. (ie. Less detail) I apologize in advance to readers who expect much more detailed reviews. Please check the reviews archives as many of my colleagues have written excellent detailed commentary of many of these CD’s. I hope the large number of quick comments will help guide you making some of those important year-end CD purchase decisions. Happy Holidays and see you in January. JP

I’m on a bit of a doom/sludge/stoner kick these days so this rating for a re-release might be artificially inflated. Meteor City has reissued pretty much every the band has done in one nice double disc set. It includes the first two CD’s and some rare singles and stuff. The added treat is three new songs, which cap off a short but influential career. The packaging could use a little more flair but does include the lyrics. This is music without any pretensions of any sort made for the love of just…well…rocking out. A great collection for fans and newcomers to the band like myself.
Track Listing

Disc One:

1. The Last Embrace (new)
2. Brainwashed (new)
3. Healing Tongue
4. Cosmic Artifact
5. Fears Machine
6. Dead Love/Jug Fulla Sun
7. Fang
8. Chaw
9. Melancholy Grey
10. Sea Legs
11. Kill Ugly Naked
12. No Hope Goat Farm
13. Courage (rare)
14. Powertime (rare)
15. Lost Sun Dance (rare)

Disc Two

1. Dove-Tongued Agressor (new)
2. So Mortal Be (rare)
3. Undone Mind (rare)
4. Spirit Caravan
5. Black Flower
6. Retroman
7. Find It
8. Futility’s Reasons
9. Cloudy Mirror
10. Elusive Truth
11. Lifer City
12. Outlaw Wizard
13. Darkness and Longing (rare)
The Departure (rare)


Scott Weinrich-Vocals, guitar
Dave Sherman-Bass
Gary Isom-Drums



Other reviews

Next review: » Spirit Disease - Annihilation
Previous review: » Spirit Adrift - Chained to Oblivion

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.