Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Ancient Tome
October 2010
Released: 2010, Heaven and Hell Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

Ritual are a heavy metal band from Livingston, New Jersey who formed in 1987 releasing their seven song "Let The Metal Play" album the same year. Heaven and Hell Records have picked up the pieces in Ritual's back catalog and grouped them together as THE ANCIENT TOME. A comprehensive career spanning set released as part of Heaven and Hell Records "Lost Relics" series.

The first seven tracks on THE ANCIENT TOME are essentially the "Let The Metal Play" album in it's entire duration. Also included is the four song "Evil in Your Heart" EP as well as five bonus tracks.

Musically speaking, Ritual play a pretty standard and campy brand of Halloween inspired shock rock. Their album cover almost leads you to believe your in for something pretty wicked, but the music recalls the beefier side of Fastway or a stripped down RATT. This stuff really recalls B-movie soundtrack fodder like you'd expect to find on the "Black Rose" or "Trick Or Treat" soundtrack... and for that I kinda dig their tuneage.

This release should obviously appeal to HM collectors with a penchant for out of print album/demo's from metal's heyday, but beyond that market is anyone's guess. A fun trip down memory lane, probably wouldn't warrant too many repeated listens though.
Track Listing

1. Give It To Ya Straight
2. Get Back, Stand Back
3. No Longer Feel
4. Tight
5. Let The Metal Play
6. If I Had Your Love
7. Rock & Roll Demon
8. Claw To The Top
9. Evil In Your Heart
10. Love In The Shadows
11. Friend Or Foe
12. Dark Star
13. Rid Of The Bitch
14. Sweet Lady
15. Overload
16. Electrified


Bill "Wildman" Farley - Vocals
Pauly D. - Rhythm Guitar
Pete Farley - Bass
Al Leese - Drums
Andrew Fox - Guitar
Ace Abram - Guitar
Joe Ballarino - Guitar
Derek Thailer - Bass
Derek Lord - Drums
Joe Procopio - Bass
Paul Huelsenbeck - Drums
W.J. Lee - Lead Guitar

Next review: » Ritual Carnage - Every Nerve Alive
Previous review: » Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow - Live In Birmingham 2016

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.