Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Raging Speedhorn
How the Great Have Fallen
January 2006
Released: 2005, SPV
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: MetalChick

Raw, harsh, unwavering and aggressive, Raging Speedhorn has arrived with their third studio album. These are a bunch of really pissed off dudes, and aren’t afraid to say what’s on their minds – or more accurately, scream it.

This is the kind of music that makes me think of insane and painful mosh pits. People throwing themselves and dancing around like jumping beans. They’ve got the somewhat groovy, muddy tone of doom metal, with some of the roughest vocals I’ve heard ever. Some songs have riffs very fast and wild, then they ease into slower passages to let you catch your breath before letting the wrath loose once more.

Lyrically, they remind me very much of Children of Bodom. Lots of death, pain, and fuck you. Songs titles speak for themselves: “Dead Man Walking,” “Fuck You Pay Me,” and “Slay the Coward,” to name a few. The songs go by quickly, not dragging you through too much repetition and emotion; they’re all perfectly succinct and to the point.

There’s a non-musical hidden track that must be mentioned for humor’s sake. It’s a phone call from a black guy responding to an ad for a black metal band, and getting turned down because of the natural misunderstanding…well, use your imagination with that one. That aside, Raging Speedhorn isn’t exactly my thing, but they’re good at what they do and the mission they’re on to spread the rage is strong. So if you’re every really angry about something, throw on this album. You’ll feel so much better.
Track Listing

1. A Different Shade of Shit
2. Oh How the Great Have Fallen
3. Dead Man Walking
4. Master of Disaster
5. Snatching Defeat From the Jaws of Victory
6. How Much Can a Man Take
7. Fuck You Pay Me
8. Slay the Coward
9. The Infidel is Dead
10. Don't Let the Bastards Grind You Down


Jon Loughlin - vocals
"Bloody" Kev - Vocals
Gareth Smith - guitar
Jay Thompson - guitar
Darren Smith - bass
Gordon Morrison - drums

Other reviews

» How the Great Have Fallen
by MetalChick

Next review: » Raging Steel - Guilty as Charged
Previous review: » Ragestorm - The Meatgrinder Manifesto

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.