Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

July 2014
Released: June, Svart Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Finnish Rippikoulu have quite a special history. Not only where they the first death metal band to be signed in Finland, they also went on quite a long hiatus. 20 years to be exact until they had a package containing 3 new tracks delivered to their record company.

It doesn’t take much time to go through the EP and it doesn’t give a large insight into what came out of those 20 years. Should the Finns have waited until there was enough material for a full length record? To be honest the 3 track constellation could have also come out in 1995 when it comes to sound and production. Does Rippikoulu make a memorable comeback? Not really.

The EP is plastered in heavy, slowly doom metal with crunching, growling vocals and splashes of fragile soprano - female singing. Rippikoulu delivers nothing new to the table. That is not saying that this is bad material, but it is old school and at times a bit dull.

Rippikoulu delivers, but they deliver a rather polished and mediocre product.

By Ellen Norvang
Track Listing

01 Jää hyvästi kaunis kesä
02 Loputon
03 Ulvaja


Janne Ruohonen - Bass
Mikko Ruohonen - Drums
Olli V. - Guitars
Anssi Kartela - Vocals



Other reviews

» Ulvaja
by UK Team

Next review: » Rise of Avernus - L'Appel du Vide
Previous review: » Riotor - Live for Steel (EP)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.