Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Richie Kotzen
October 2014
Released: 2014, Loud & Proud Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

Like many I first heard of Richie Kotzen when he joined Poison for their NATIVE TONGUE album but sort of lost track after that. I did hear an album or two but that was about it. He resurfaced in the public’s eye a couple years ago as part of the Winery Dogs. Now in 2014 Loud & Proud Records have issued this wonderful collection of Kotzen music for us all to enjoy.

ESSENTIAL is a fantastic introduction to the talent of Kotzen as both a musician (guitarist and singer) and songwriter. The average person may not know who he is but once they hear the music on these two CD’s I am pretty positive that they will check out more of his stuff. For those of us that do know who he is and are familiar with some of his work will appreciate having this collection as it spans back to his days with Poison right up to this year with some newly re-recorded titles. Fans of Richie will need this for the unreleased material and those new 2014 recordings. It’s a winner of a release every way you look at it.

Sitting back with a cold one (or two) and listening to the full double disc set from start to finish is an enjoyable way to spend some time. It is very therapeutic as the music is relaxing without being boring and mundane. Very enjoyable to kick back and relax with after a busy week or day. Listening to his acoustic playing and unique voice is just soothing on the ears. Even the more upbeat tracks fall into place alongside the mellower recordings.

After listening to this collection I can easily say that Richie is a highly underrated player and he deserves more recognition. Finally a compilation release that lives up to it’s name; ESSENTIAL.
Track Listing

1. War Paint *
2. Walk With Me *
3. Love Is Blind
4. Go Faster
5. Fooled Again
6. OMG (What’s Your Name?)
7. Help Me
8. Bad Situation
9. Lie To Me *
10. Fear
11. You Can’t Save Me
12. Doing What The Devil Says To Do
13. Remember (Reprise)
* never before released *
1. What Is (2014)
2. High (2014)
3. Change (2014)
4. Special (2014)
5. Paint It On (Acoustic Version)
6. Holding On (Acoustic Version)
7. Until You Suffer Some (Fire And Ice) – (Acoustic Version)
8. The Road (Acoustic Version)
9. Regret (Original Demo Version)
10. Damaged (Original Demo Version)





Other reviews

» Get Up
by Anders Sandvall

» Into The Black
by Celtic Bob

» Return of the Mother Head’s Family Reunion
by Anders Sandvall

» Live In Sao Paulo
by Celtic Bob

» Essential
by Celtic Bob

Next review: » Richie Kotzen - Get Up
Previous review: » Rhapsody Of Fire - Visions From The Enchanted Lands (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.