Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Built Back Up From Self Destruction
August 2010
Released: 2010, Independent
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

This has a little more bite than first expected! I figured that it would be another Nickelback or Theory of a Deadman re-hash, but I’ve definitely been proven wrong!

It’s not just a radio rock album that covers all the bases and it is actually a really good listen. It’ll always rest in the middle ground where there are, admittedly, a lot of bands now. But there are only a few who boast this combination of heaviness with technicality.

The make-up of the songs is great, precise and well written and extremely well produced. Most of the songs, if released could make an impact on the top twenty charts if pushed, for example ‘Sex Slave’ is very dirty rock and roll, and could have written by anyone from ‘Velvet Revolve’r through to ‘Buckcherry’ and ‘Nickelback’. The vocals are of a high calibre, hitting all the right notes, even if at sometimes they are reminisce of Scott Stapp or Chad Kreoger. But there are hints of Cobain-esque raspy croon and screams with even a little but of Sully from Godsmack.

The lyrics are typical radio friendly sadness and foreboding, sung with harmonies as well during most of the tracks, just to get that epic sound. They deal with the choice of self-destruction or re-building ones life. This album tends to reminisce of a crop of great post-grunge bands that came out in the early to mid nineties, like ‘Puddle of Mudd’ and ‘Seether’ to name just a common two with elements of later bands such as ‘Theory of a Deadman’ and ‘Nickelback’ (but with a little more balls than the later!)

I think "Peeling Skin' is a decent track, featuring a blistering opening with a solo that was made to melt the skin off fingers! "Rain to Snow" shows Ault’s skill with the guitar during the solo with grace. Although it has to be said that some of the lead work gets lost in the mix. The drums have great production, reminding me of The Black Albums drum production.

All in all, this is a very well written and well produced album, I don’t think it’ll end up being a classic, but you’ll defiantly be singing along to the songs the more you listen to them.

(Danny Draper)
Track Listing

01. Change
02. Tougher side
03. Drag
04. Alcohol
05. Rain To Snow
06. Fading Away
07. Dream
08. The Brim
09. Peeling Skin
10. Can’t Let You Go
11. Sex Slave
12. Know Me Now
13. Sea of Taste


Freeman Belmont – Vocals Rhythm Guitar
Colin Ault – Lead Guitar
Jason Williams – Bass, Guitars & Back-up Vocals
Nick Ortega – Drums, Guitars & Back-up Vocals

Other reviews

» Built Back Up From Self Destruction
by UK Team

Next review: » Resurrect The Machine - Uncover The Truth
Previous review: » Response Negative - 5-Song EP

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.