Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Frequency Unknown
June 2013
Released: 2013, Cleopatra Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

With so many albums out there to listen to and cover we try and avoid duplicate reviews unless they have opposing views. Last month Aaron reviewed this release and I have since had time to listen to the album and offer my opinion.

I do agree with many of the points that Aaron mentioned in his review, especially concerning the re-recordings of old Queensrÿche material. These re-recordings do not come close to the originals and should definitely have been left for B-Sides or better yet, the cutting room floor.

If you look at FREQUENCY UNKNOWN as a Queensrÿche album it is a qualified Fail. If you look at is a Geoff Tate solo album it gets a passing grade. With expectations high I tried to listen with an open mind. I wanted this to be a killer album and hoped that the voice of Queensrÿche would deliver the goods. What we have gotten is a decent Hard Rock album, nothing more.

If you view this as a new Queensrÿche album then Aaron’s rating was generous. On it’s own it is worth a few spins and is a decent release. I would however consider this more of a Tate solo offering.
Track Listing

1. Cold
2. Dare
3. Give it to You
4. Slave
5. In the Hands of God
6. Running Backwards
7. Life Without You
8. Everything
9. Fallen
10. The Weight of the World
11. I Don’t Believe in Love
12. Empire
13. Jet City Woman
14. Silent Lucidity


Geoff Tate – Vocals
Rudy Sarzo – Bass
Simon Wright – Drums
Randy Gane - Keyboards
Craig Locicero – Rhythm Guitar
Jason Slater – Bass, Keyboards
Martín Irigoyen – All guitars, bass, and drums (on tracks 11–14)
Paul Bostaph - Drums
Evan Bautista – Drums




Next review: » Queensrÿche - S/T
Previous review: » Queensrÿche - Frequency Unknown

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.