Featured Events

Steelfest 2017

Swedenrock 2017

Brutal Assault

K???????? ???? ???? 24.06.2017 Kyiv


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Praying Mantis
The Journey Goes On
July 2003
Released: 2003, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Rick

Another NWOBHM act rears its head. I will be frank. I didn’t know a hell of a lot about Praying Mantis before I sat down to write this review. Of course I had heard their track on the Metal For Muthas compilation but other than that they were an obscure part of the movement that spawned Iron Maiden, Saxon and Def Leppard. Born in 1977 Praying Mantis was the brainchild of brothers Timo and Chris Troy. They released their first demo in 1979 which led to their inclusion on the METAL FOR MUTHAS compilation. The success of the the album got them the opening slot on the first Iron Maiden UK tour. They recorded their debut album TIME TELLS NO TALES but the album unfortunately didn’t have much commercial appeal and by 1985 the band had added ex Iron Maiden drummer Clive Burr and changed their name to Stratus. Stratus released the disc THROWING SHAPES. By 1990 the brothers had decided to reform Praying Mantis and welcomed aboard former Iron Maiden members Paul Dianno and Dennis Stratton. The success of this reunion convinced the brothers to continue on with a more permanent lineup. With a number of different vocalists, and other lineup changes, Praying Mantis went on to record a number of CDs including: A CRY FOR THE NEW WORLD (1993), TO THE POWER OF TEN (1995), DEMORABILIA (1999) and NOWHERE TO HIDE (2000).

On the heaviness scale of the NWOBHM Praying Mantis slot in very low. They play a style that is much more hard rock than balls out metal. This release also sees the band use a couple of guest vocalists along with the vocals provided by the brothers and Stratton. The first is John Sloman (Gary Moore) who opens the disc with “Tonight” and also adds vocals on “Beast Within” and “The Voice”. “Tonight” is the best of his contributions with Sloman using his slick voice to carry this mid tempo, infectious rocker. The second guest on vocals is Dougie White who most recently was heard on the latest Yngwie Malmsteen disc ATTACK. White handles the vocals on 4 tracks including “The Escape”, “Lost World” and possibly the best song on the CD “Hold on For Love”. Whites voice is a tad more aggressive than Sloman’s and makes for a great mix when added to the Mantis tunes. The notes don’t say which band member handles the remaining couple of tracks but its safe to say that though they are adequate its Sloman and White who are the stars in the vocal department.

I really didn’t know what to expect from this disc. Not having heard any other Praying Mantis material I was surprised that they leaned in such a melodic direction. Their sound is more AOR than metal but there is no doubting their pedigree. These guys were there for the NWOBHM and helped shape the direction of metal in the late 70s and early 80s. They are still releasing quality material that though leaning in a more melodic direction might still be interesting to anyone who likes well crafted hard rock.
Track Listing

1: Tonight
2: The Escape
3: The Journey Goes On
4: Silent War
5: Beast Within
6: Hold On For Love
7: If Tomorrow Never Comes
8: Lost World
9: The Voice


Chris Troy : bass, lead and background vocals and keyboards
Dennis Stratton: guitars, lead and background vocals
Tino Troy: guitars, lead and background vocals and keyboards

Special guests:
John Sloman: vocals
Dougie White: vocals
Martin Johnson: drums



Other reviews

Next review: » Predatory Light - MMXIV
Previous review: » Praying Mantis - The Journey Goes On

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.