Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Dark World Burden
April 2010
Released: 2010, Inner Wound
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

This album came out of left field and smacked me upside the head…in a good way! This young band have embraced Metal to the hilt and has been in heavy rotation in my player. I don’t think I’ve heard a Brazilian Metal band I didn’t like. It seems like the musicians down there really adhere to the principles of classic metal. Add Painside to the list!

DARK WORLD BURDEN dumps 11 tracks of metal right on the top of your head, and you’ll enjoy it! The band firmly in the Power Metal camp also delves very slightly into darker realms. They aren’t frilly and keyboard oriented but much faster, darker and heavier, like later-era Priest and perhaps Nevermore. Some of the initial press is suggesting there are hints of a modern sound like the rock band Disturbed, but don’t let that fool or scare you, I don’t hear it at all. In fact I feel it’s an insult to even suggest that Disturbed could come anywhere close to Painside.

Vocalist Guilherme Sevens has hints of Bruce Dickinson and his vocals are clear, powerful and expressive without getting too high into dog-whistle territory. The guitars are quite crunchy and they avoid extensive soloing, just churning along allowing the other instruments to shine in the mix. I know it’s a bore to say ‘Band X’ sounds like ‘Band Y’ but Painside really fall into the camp of metal that was diverse enough to appeal to fans of both thrash and trad metal; bands like Vicious Rumors, Metal Church, Forbidden, Flotsam And Jetsam etc. Despite from being from Brazil they have more of a American feel than a Euro-Metal feel.

Painside are straight-ahead, pure, uncompromising Metal that bulldozes along the highway flying the flag with pride Add some guest appearences from Renato Tribuzy and Chris Boltendahl and you have a winner!
Track Listing

1. Ignite The Fire
2. Where Darkness Rules
3. Collapse The LIe
4. The Deviant
5. This Dark World
6. Sand Messiah
7. Forsaken
8. Serpent's Tongue
9. The Edge
10. Martyr
11. Redeemers In Blood


Guilherme Sevens-Vocals
Carlos Saione-Guitar
Daemon Ross-Guitar
Marcelo Val-Bass
Andre Andrade-Drums

Other reviews

Next review: » Painted Black - Cold Comfort
Previous review: » PainmuseuM - Metal For Life

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.