Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

June 2007
Released: 2007, Capitol/E.M.I.
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

You either love Poison or you hate them, there is no in between. Glam Metal’s finest release this disc of 13 fantastic cover songs. Some were previously released but 8 were recorded especially for this disc.

Cover songs are usually hit or miss (mostly miss) but they do a great job here mostly because the songs are slightly obscure but the artists are not. Starting off with a true to the original cover of Sweet’s “Little Willy” the band just nails it. What hits you initially is the sound of Rikki’s drums, they sound so full and deep. Finally you can appreciate them fully as they are mixed perfectly. Songs like “Can’t You See” and “What I Like About You” are the 2 standouts of the new 8. They are pure rockers and they now have a little more edge to them. They are full on, high energy songs that are sure to go over well live. They fit in with Poison originals extremely well.

Rounding out the disc are covers that the band has done over the years such as “Rock n Roll All Night” from the LESS THAN ZERO soundtrack right up to the Jim Croce cover that was recorded back in ’86 and never saw the light of day until it’s inclusion on last year’s reissue of the debut album LOOK WHAT THE CAT DRAGGED IN.

Do yourself a favor and get POISON’D as soon as possible.
Track Listing

1. Little Willy
2. Suffragette City
3. I Never Cry
4. I Need to Know
5. Can't You See
6. What I Like About You
7. Dead Flowers
8. Just What I Needed
9. Rock and Roll All Nite
10. Squeeze Box
11. You Don't Mess Around With Jim
12. Your Mama Don't Dance
13. We're An American Band


Bret Michaels
Bobby Dall
C.C. DeVille
Rikki Rockett

Next review: » Poison - Seven Days Live (DVD)
Previous review: » Poison - Live, Raw & Uncut (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.