Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Planet Rain
The Fundamental Principles
May 2014
Released: 2014, Mighty Music
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

No matter how old and past its prime a genre gets, there are always those dedicated followers that keep the flame burning. Case in point: melodic death metal. The genre arguably peaked over a decade ago, and yet there are new bands cropping up all the time plying the trade. In the case of the subject of this review, Sweden’s Planet Rain, the band’s roots go all the way back to the halcyon days of melo-death, as the group originally formed as Zweihander back in 1997. Zweihander didn’t amount to much, with only a 2004 demo to their name, but the band changed their name in 2006 and slowly but surely became more productive, finally releasing their debut album in 2012 (ANTICHTHON). 15 years from inception to debut release…that’s got to be close to some kind of record! Anyway, the band has come back rather quickly with their sophomore album, THE FUNDAMENTAL PRINCIPLES.

As expected for a melodic death metal release, Planet Rain plays it quite close to the vest with their music, staying close to the tenets of their genre. Granted, the songs stray into more progressive terrain, but other than some sorely misplaced clean vocals in a song or two, most of the music is typical melodic death metal. Unfortunately, while there isn’t a bad song on the album, the band’s song writing lacks the flair necessary to make the music stand out. “Solstorm” shows promise with a building bass-driven introduction, but quickly falls into standard melo-death riffing. As for the rest of the album, it’s solid but unspectacular. I enjoyed it while it was playing, but I can’t remember a single riff or melody afterwards. Melodic death fans looking for a new band to explore will find some worth here, but beyond those dedicated few, the appeal is limited.
Track Listing

1. On Darkling Plains
2. Fluxus
3. The Dereliction II – The Bonds of Oblivion
4. Kryptographik
5. Solstorm
6. The Worlds We Devour
7. Shock Wave


Par Sving: Vocals
Tommy Holmer: Drums
Emil Westin Skogh: Guitar
Marcus Karlsson: Bass



Other reviews

Next review: » Planet X - Moonbabies
Previous review: » Plaguewielder - Chambers of Death

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.