Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

September 2014
Released: 2014, Deep Six Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

There are few things in life that are truly dependable:

1) Death

2) Taxes

3) Phobia

In their almost 25 years on the scene, So-Cal grind merchants Phobia have yet to disappoint. Their latest 7”, appropriately titled GRINDCORE, is no exception. 8 tracks, 8 minutes, full throttle kick you in the teeth grind with absolutely zero pleasantries. Yes, it’s exactly what you’d expect and exactly what you wanted.

Presentation wise, the new tracks sound like an extension of 2012’s REMNANTS OF FILTH; polished and tight bursts of controlled mania, with just enough crust around its pissed off edges. The tunes blitz by like a junkie chasing a fix, but moments like “Black Out” and “Breeding Despite” will remind you why Phobia have been able to persist for as long as they have.

If you need more convincing than that, I don’t know what to tell ya. If you’re looking for a quick shot of grind to get you through, look no further than Phobia. GRINDCORE releases on 7” vinyl and digital formats on September 9th through Deep Six Records.
Track Listing

1. Subversion Till Dispersion
2. Breeding Despite
3. Path to Destruction
4. Black Out
5. Maimed and Gained
6. Curse at Birth
7. Don’t Hate the Pain, Hate the Game
8. Live to Feel Live to Heel


Shane Mclachlan – Vocals
Bryan Fajardo – Drums
Calum Mackenzie – Bass
Dorian Rainwater – Guitars
CC Loessin - Guitars

Other reviews

» 22 Random Acts of Violence
by Hanntu

» Unrelenting
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Grindcore
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Phobia - Unrelenting
Previous review: » Phobia - 22 Random Acts of Violence

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.