Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Pain Confessor
October 2004
Released: 2004, Megamania
Rating: 4.2/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Sometimes a new band comes along with a debut album and the fuss people make over them gets to be too much. You hear hype about how breathtaking the album is, but when you get your hands on it and start listening, you end up only being disappointed. Luckily that’s not the case with Finland’s Pain Confessor and their debut album titled TURMOIL. The band is already respected as a wildly moving live act here in Finland and the guys have managed to gather quite an army of fans around them since their formation in 2002. The band contains 6 rather experienced players (such as Vesa Säkkinen from the long-disbanded A.R.G.), so I’m not too surprised that this debut was unleashed only 2 years after Pain Confessor was formed. The band’s horns are ready enough and willing to confront the listening public and the guys surely must be certain enough about themselves and their ability to write memorable songs.

I’ve listened to TURMOIL several times now with an unprejudiced mind and I can see a bunch of happy winners behind the making of these songs. Pain Confessor have succeed in putting one hell of an album together. The band plays a modernish sounding combination of metalcore and melodic thrash that also finds room for keyboards, though not too much. It’s actually quite hard to file them under any genre simply due to their relatively weird combination of both keyboard-laden heaviness and thrash metal parts. Essentially, Pain Confessor is a melting pot consisting of Soilwork, Darkane and Shadows Fall. At their best and most convincing Pain Confessor manage to give a lesson in unbridled thrashing violence on such songs as “Whenever Dark Draws Near”, “Underworld”, “Soul Eraser”, “Lake of Regret” and “Just Names Remain”, the latter track being the most furiously raging number on TURMOIL and my favorite off the album as well. I would be greatly pleased if they did more stuff like “Just Names Remain”. Factor in Janna Saksa’s unconventional yet very top-notch production and we’ve got a winner here. This is definitely a band you should keep your eye on in the future.
Track Listing

1. Fiery Thorns
2. Hollow Souls
3. Whenever Dark Draws Near
4. Erased Of Empathy
5. Poor Man’s Crown
6. Underworld
7. Waste Of Good Suffering
8. Soul Eraser
9. Instinct To Resist
10. Lake Of Regret
11. Just Names Remain


Make – Vocals
Tuomas – Guitar
Weslayer – Guitar (*)
Mikko K. - Bass
Mikko L. – Drums
Pasi – Keyboards

Other reviews

by Luxi Lahtinen

by Luxi Lahtinen

» Purgatory of the Second Sun
by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Pain Of Salvation - 12:5
Previous review: » Pain Confessor - Purgatory of the Second Sun

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.