Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Omnium Gatherum
New World Shadows
March 2011
Released: 2011, Lifeforce Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

Finland's melodic death metal warriors Omnium Gatherum return with their fifth full length album as well as their initial offering for new label Lifeforce Records with NEW WORLD SHADOWS.

NEW WORLD SHADOWS begins with the epic "Everfields" a near ten minute track that plays heavy off of dynamics and melancholic dissonance. Doom and gloom set the stage for some really heartfelt leadwork from guitarist Markus Vanhala. "Ego" has an infectious theme riff and some catchy melodies that make this a very memorable tune. The keyboards of Aapo Koivisto take a backseat minimalist approach, yet successfully providing a dense cloud of atmospheric background. The album's title track chugs along abrasively, complemented by some ethereal keys and the gruff, guttural vocals of Jukka Pelkonen. Definitely more progressive in nature than many of their melo-death brethren. Some backing choirs and clean vocals even make it into the mix.

"An Infinite Mind" is a complex tune with many twists and turns, finding ample time to showcase each member of the band along the way. Everything builds up to the mid section on this track and then wallows in doomy awesomeness. "Watcher In The Skys" is a beautiful instrumental piece, and the perfect backdrop for Markus' harmonies to shine. As epic as NEW WORLD SHADOWS began, so too does it come to a close with another near ten minute opus by way of the frostbitten and downtrodden riffery of "Deep Cold". Clean vocal harmonies, acoustic guitars and militaristic drum rolls cascade against a wall of rhythm guitars, bass, synth and drums. It's a little difficult to put over how monstrous and full Omnium Gatherum sound when firing at full capacity.

I really enjoyed this Dan Swano produced album and I think NEW WORLD SHADOWS should put a smile on both fans of the band and newcomers alike. Definitely a solid effort from a band poised to breakout in 2011.
Track Listing

1. Everfields
2. Ego
3. New World Shadows
4. Soul Journeys
5. Nova Flame
6. An Infinite Mind
7. Watcher Of The Skies
8. The Distance
9. Deep Cold


Jukka Pelkonen - Vocals
Markus Vanhala - Guitar
Toni Mäki - Bass
Jarmo Pikka - Drums
Aapo Koivisto - Keyboards



Next review: » Omnium Gatherum - Spirits And August Light
Previous review: » Omnihility - Omnihility

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.