Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

April 2015
Released: 2015, ViciSolum records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Having received critical acclaim from their debut release, the Finnish Metal outfit Oceeanwake are back with a their follow up release Sunless. This four track offering pushes their song writing abilities further as the band continue to embody the spirit of their hometown Luvia into the body of their music.

Erupting with the mammoth sounding guitars of ‘The Lay of A Coming Storm’ the sludgy pace disperses into guitar led melody full of subtle mastery. The track scales its way throughout the fifteen minute journey and features an array of tight drums for good measure. ‘Perhelion’ retains a more melodic stance in its execution as the opening minutes drift by effortlessly, before lunging into a doom driven guitars and pounding drums. Meanwhile, ’Ephemeral’ feels harsher, grittier and all the more enticing for it. The bass lines slither along, keeping everything in a downbeat destructive sound. The riffs plough through with dissonant tones that leave no room for respite, creating a truly claustrophobic atmosphere throughout. Closing off with, ‘Nadir’ the band offer up a great balance between heavy and clean vocals, before lapsing into melodic guitars. The gritty bass work towards the end gives the track a real charge, as the head banging induced riffs take flight, making this a closure that will get fans hitting the replay button for some time.

Even though this record may be short, the ground covered during this exploration is more rewarding than most albums. The band’s ability to unify intense melodies with sludge driven angst reveal the their potency within the contemporary metal arena and on this merit alone they are truly on top form here.

Review by Ben Spencer
Track Listing

1. The Lay of the Coming Storm
2. Parhelion
3. Avanturine
4. Ephemeral
5. Nadir


Martti Koski - Guitars
Mikko Kulju - Drums
V-V Laaksonen - Guitars, vocals
Jarkko Mäkelä - Bass
Eero Haula - Vocals

Other reviews

» Sunless
by UK Team

Next review: » October 31 - Metal Massacre 31
Previous review: » Oceansize - Self Preserved While the Bodies Float Up

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.