Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Onkel Tom Angelripper
Ich Glaub' Nicht An Den Weihnachtsmann
December 2016
Released: 2000, BMG
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: JP

For The Twelve Days of Christmas my true love gave to me…

12. Northern Light Orchestra-Celebrate Christmas

11. Notre Dame-Nightmare Before Christmas

10. Psychostick-The Flesh Eating Rollerskate Holiday Joyride

9. Raskaampaa Joulua-Raskaampaa Joulua

8. Raskasta Joulua-Raskasta Joulua

7. Raskasta Joulua-Raskasta Joulua 2

6. The Kings Of Christmas-365 Days A Year

5. The Wizards Of Winter-The Wizards Of Winter

4. Trans-Siberian Orchestra-Christmas Eve And Other Stories

3. Trans-Siberian Orchestra-The Lost Christmas Eve

2. Twisted Sister-A Twisted Christmas

1. Various Artists-Monster Ballads Christmas

13. (Bonus evil album!) Onkel Tom-Ich Glaub’ Nicht An Den Weihnachtsmann

Every year on Dec 1st, I pull out the box containing over 40 of my cherished Metal Christmas CD’s. This year I decided to review a few more for Metal-Rules. Please enjoy all of this 12 days of Christmas Metal album review feature…, plus one evil bonus review! Who says Christmas can’t be Metal?

It might seem obvious but trying to review a comedy album that is sung and/or spoken in a foreign language that you do not speak, is extremely challenging. Basically all the jokes don’t mean anything. Unfortunately that is the case with ICH GLAUB’ NICHT AN DEN WEIHNACHTSMANN, which roughly translated means, ‘I Don’t Believe in Santa Claus’.

Even if you are not familiar with Onkel Tom, most fans should recognize the fact that this is the long running, comedy side-project of Tom Angelripper of Sodom. This is naturally their Christmas album! The CD came out in 2000 and is a little bit more rare, I had to order my copy used on-line. The 16-song, 44-minute album is nicely appointed with an 8-page booklet with some lyrics, some liner notes in German and a picture of what is presumably a young Tom Such at home at Christmas dressed in some sort of lederhosen! The cover art is very awesome as well, you can never go wrong the with 'evil Santa'. Many of the songs are originals or perhaps European Christmas songs and as such, I don’t recognize them at all, although they are all good thrash fuelled songs with Tom’s familiar rasp. One of The highlights for me is the song, ‘Amerikanisches Weichnachts Medley’. My German in non-existent but even I can figure out what that means and the fun medley of five classic is sung in English. One of the few other songs in English is a utterly ripping version of ‘Jingle Bells’.

This album reminds me quite a bit of the album called X-MAS PROJECT, a collection of German Metal guys doing Christmas songs, that came out back in 1985 or so. The guttural delivery of the German language combined with the harsh vocals make the re-interpretations of Christmas songs so much fun and funny. If this album was in English, (or if I could understand German) the humour would come through and I would give this a much higher ranking. As it stands, it is a curio in my library that doesn’t get played as much as my other Metal Christmas albums.
Track Listing

1. Zuhause bei Onkel Tom
2. Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht
3. Ihr Kinderlein kommet
4. Ich glaub' nicht an den Weihnachtsmann
5. Alle Jahre wieder
6. O du fröhliche
7. Am Weihnachtsbaume
8. Amerikanisches Weihnachtsmedley *
9. Morgen kommt der Weihnachtsmann
10. Jingle Bells
11. Fröhliche Weihnacht
12. Kling, Glöckchen, kling
13. Morgen Kinder wird's was geben
14. O Tannenbaum
15. Frohes Fest
16. Leise rieselt der Schnee


Santa Tommi Vocals
Santa Alexander Guitar
Santa Olli Bass
Santa Bobby Drums



Next review: » Onslaught - Killing Peace
Previous review: » Onirophagus - Prehuman

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.