Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Nation Beyond
The Aftermath Odyssey
August 2008
Released: 2008, Laser's Edge
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

The power metal boom of the late ‘90s has obviously died down, but that hasn’t stopped a slew of bands releasing what seems like hundreds of ‘80s-influenced, Hammerfall rip-off albums each year. Thankfully, there are still some bands that try and bring something new to the table. Take Sweden’s Nation Beyond for example. Initially formed as a project for members of Face Down and Debase, the group has blossomed into a fully formed band, worthy of notice.

Make no mistake – you will hear nothing new on this disc. This is pure progressive-tinged power metal, played like its 1988 (or 1997 – whichever your preferred era is), but done with such conviction that I don’t mind at all. A post apocalyptic concept album, THE AFTERMATH ODYSSEY goes to all the right places, lead by the thespian pipes of newcomer Nielz Lindstrom. His powerful vocals tell a tragic story, and are perfectly matched by the melodic metal of the band. Yes, there are moments of smothering cheese (take the spoken word interlude in “New Eden City” for example), but all in all, the band capably mixes the progressive songs with more aggressive moments (“The Last Deceiver”).

As you might expect, the band has a cringe-worthy ballad, sticking out like a sore thumb in the middle of the album. Yes, “SoulMates” is as sappy as its long line of power metal predecessors, which is unfortunate, as this song and “Confessions” are the only places where Sara Heurlin gets to shine. Her vocals are just as powerful as Lindstrom’s and it’s a shame she isn’t used more.

Overall, Nation Beyond have shown they are a worthy addition to the ever-crowded power metal genre. They won’t set your world on fire but if you are a fan of this style, they deserve a look.
Track Listing

1) In the End
2) A Rainy Day in Hell
3) In the Ashes
4) The Wanderer
5) New Eden City
6) The Council
7) SoulMates
8) The Last Deceiver
9) Confessions
10) War of the Wasteland
11) Aftermath
12) Point Zero


Jonas Karlgren: Guitar, Keyboards
Joakim Hedestedt: Bass
Nielz Lindstrom: Vocals
Johan Helgesson: Drums
Micko Twedberg: Guitar
Sara Heurlin: Guest Vocals

Next review: » National Napalm Syndicate - 4-SONG PROMO 2003
Previous review: » Nation Beyond - The Aftermath Odyssey

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.