Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Napoleon Skullfukk
Swollen + Torture Metal
March 2011
Released: 2011, Dynamic Arts Records
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Napoleon Skullfukk. Now what kind of a band name is that actually? Sounds somehow disturbing and perverted. Well, even if someone is named after for his/her most-secret kept perversion, it should not make anyone worse than others… should it? So let this 5-piece Finnish act be called by that name by any means.

Napoleon SF plays death metal of the meanest and darkest kind. Influences range from bands like Obituary to Bolt Thrower to Cannibal Corpse – and some of these influences can even relatively easily be spotted in their stuff. The band´s cadaver-reeking and guts-exposing death metal has a very familiar spirit of old times; their death metal rolls mercilessly over you like a colony of Sd.Kfz. 171 tanks, spitting fire and smoke from its massive metal lungs – and if you consider yourself a lucky punk, you probably don´t want to hold your breath too long but be prepared to take another mangling session from them with wide open arms. There´s even a good chance that you will start liking this. I did – to a certain point, I mean.

What comes to an unfortunate downside of this mid-priced double EP release of Napoleon SF, despite delivering their goods pretty well and relatively convincingly even, their grinding and heavy death metal tends to wear off its ´first-love´ charm relatively soon. This battle has already been fought so many times before; with better weapons and fought slightly better to start with. If Napoleon SF had released this some 20 years ago, it would be a whole different story there for sure.

Who could I recommend this then? Maybe a 100% serious and bulletproof death metal collector could make a nice addition of this to his/her collection. For the rest of you I would recommend to invest your hard savings into the back catalogs of bands like Obituary, Bolt Thrower, Cannibal Corpse and such death troops instead. Well, the choice is yours anyway.
Track Listing

01. Swollen
02. Inside Journey
03. Living with the Dead
04. One Glorious Human Massacre
05. Facefuck with a Hammer
06. Code Napoleon Skullfukk
07. Samantha, You're Alive for a Reason
08. Human Flavour


R. Kurimus - Vocals
T. Myllyaho - Guitar
M. Jaara - Guitar
I. Junttari - Bass
J. Lassila - Drums

Other reviews

» Swollen + Torture Metal
by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Narasimha - Narasimha
Previous review: » Napalm Death - Words from the Exit Wound

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.