Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

You Will Never Be One of Us
July 2016
Released: 2016, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

So “powerviolence” is a thing now?

That’s the genre classification that I’ve seen most associated with Nails and their latest release, YOU WILL NEVER BE ONE OF US. The band’s sound has been a steady amalgam of grindcore, hardcore, and death metal, but I guess “powerviolence” packages all of that up in a tidy, limited syllable reference point.

Nails albums have always been the sound of controlled chaos, and this latest release intends to push that illusion of control to the absolute brink. The riffs rage hard and fast, the drums sound like the cymbals are going to crash through your speakers at any second, and Todd Jones spits distorted words of war like a man with a definite grudge against the world. At just under 22 minutes, YOU WILL NEVER BE ONE OF US is the longest Nails record to date. As such, the tunes aren’t given an opportunity to outstay their welcome, opting for a sustained series of hit and run assaults. Songs like the dirgey “They Come Crawling Back”, “Violence is Forever” and the title track sting in the gut a little better than the balance of the album, but top to bottom, it’s unquestionably a brutal record.

But whether it’s the transition from Southern Lord (their previous label) to the megaplex that is Nuclear Blast and/or the organic growth of their reputation, there’s been a TON of hype and expectation surrounding this album. Some have gone so far as to compare it to REIGN IN BLOOD. If we’re talking brevity and compressed aggression, sure, I get that. If we’re talking level of importance and long term value, I’m gonna call shenanigans.

Nails is a great band and YOU WILL NEVER BE ONE OF US is a great album – for what it is. It’s a quick blast of tightly executed aggro hostility, and if that’s what you’re looking for, it certainly gets the job done. But after the closing feedback of “They Come Crawling Back” fades out, there’s no real residual investment in the album, and you’re left wondering “okay, what’s next in my playlist”, before moving on to whatever silly cat videos you’ve got queued up on YouTube.

Heavy? Hells’ yes. Mandatory? Hardly, but YOU WILL NEVER BE ONE OF US should still muster a listen so you can decide for yourself what all the fuss is about.
Track Listing

1. You Will Never Be One of Us
2. Friend to All
3. Made to Make You Fail
4. Life Is a Death Sentence
5. Violence Is Forever
6. Savage Intolerance
7. In Pain
8. Parasite
9. Into Quietus
10. They Come Crawling Back


John Gianelli - Bass
Taylor Young - Drums
Todd Jones - Vocals, Guitars

Other reviews

» Unsilent Death
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Abandon All Life
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» You Will Never Be One of Us
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Nalbandian, Bob (Director) - Inside Metal: Pioneers Of L.A. Hard Rock and Metal (DVD)
Previous review: » Nails - Unsilent Death

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.