Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus
Synkkä Tuuli
February 2014
Released: 2013, HPGD Productions
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

If you’ve been feeling like you don’t have enough Finish Ambient Black Metal in your life, well lucky day – have I got a treat in store for you. Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus (say that three times fast) is actually a Philadelphia based duo and the musical brainchild of Helsinki transplant Mika Mage. Rounded out by multi-instrumentalist and vocalist MWS, SYNKKÄ TULLI is the pair’s full length debut. Comparable to bands like Velvet Cacoon and Shadows in the Crypt, SYNKKÄ TULLI is a cold, bleak, minimalist delight.

What I found most endearing about SYNKKÄ TULLI is that there’s no posturing or attempts at spooky pretentiousness in the music. Much like Immortal, Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus use the barren loneliness of Mage’s snow covered homeland as creative fodder whilst using the grimness of black metal to leverage those ideas. Creating mood and mental imagery is really the endgame for the duo, and they’re largely successful here. Save for the occasional Burzum-esque synth interlude, Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus musically stick to the blueprints of traditional black metal, but as a collective body of work it’s pretty compelling stuff. In particular, the closing title track and “Anhedonia” are the strongest cuts on the album in both execution and production, and best communicate the band’s intentions.

If you like your metal black, bleak, stripped, and frozen from hypothermia, SYNKKÄ TULLI is an album you’ll want in your collection. The currency value on underground black metal bands is probably at the lowest it’s ever been right now, but I’m genuinely intrigued by what Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus are creating and curious to hear what comes next. SYNKKÄ TULLI is available now through Horror Pain Gore Death Productions.
Track Listing

1. Ylittäen Jäätyneen Pohjoisen (I)
2. Ylittäen Jäätyneen Pohjoisen (II)
3. Itämeri Anomalia
4. Anhedonia
5. Arktinen Välisoitto
6. Synkkä Tuuli
7. Ketamiini


Mika Mage – Lead, Rhythm Guitar, Drum Programming
Ser Stephen Thee Unruley (MWS) – Bass, Synth, Vocal, Drum Programming

Other reviews

» Synkkä Tuuli
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» The Child Must Die
by UK Team

Next review: » Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus - The Child Must Die
Previous review: » Nihilist - S/T

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.