Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Puritan
May 2015
Released: 2015, Despotz RECORDS
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

Nightrage are not a new name as they have been hanging with us since 2000. They are a Greek/Swedish metal band, and are one of the most respected representatives of the well-known Gothenburg sound. For all those who are not aware, Nightrage’s leader, Marios Iliopoulos, is one of the best friends with Firewind/Ozzy Osbourne’s guitarist, Gus G., and the one who helped Gus G. to show his talent in front of big crowds. Also, Marios Iliopoulos is the bass player in Gus G’s band, Firewind.

Nightrage managed to keep themselves alive despite difficulties that passed and ongoing line-up changes. Thier last two albums managed to maintained stability without a big name, and manages to keep on track. It is true that in melodic death metal, if something gets released, it has to be very inspired to impress. However, an album can be possessed by a great quality, which although not impressive with its originality, but is able to offer satisfaction to the listener, who admittedly has struggled to find enough pure melodic Gothenburg-based death metal, without -core puffs, nowadays. .

THE PURITAN is an album like that. It manages stealthily to invade your head by its wonderful, melodic, yet truly heavy and angry music. A great thanks to Gothenborg sound mastermind, Daniel Bergstrand (Meshuggah, In flames, Dimmu Borgir, Devin Townsend, Evergrey, Soilwork) and George Nerantzis who helped make an amazing sound.

Do not expect something brand new here. Absolutely not. But do not forget that we are not in mid 90’s. The current years are not the same and originality now is something almost impossible to achieve. Anyway, it is almost 100% certain in the music that the same "material" will never bring you the same good effect in the past. THE PURITAN will not let you down and I am very sure that you gonna enjoy it.
Track Listing

1. The Puritan
2. With a Blade of a Knife
3. Desperate Vows
4. Endless Night
5. Foul Vile LIfe
6. Stare Into Infinity
7. Lone Lake (instrumental)
8. Son of a Sorrow
9. When Gold turns to Rust
10. Fathomless
11. Kiss of a Sycophant


Marios Iliopoulos : Lead Guitars / Rhythm Guitars
Ronnie Nyman : Lead Vocals
Anders Hammer : Bass

Next review: » Nightrage - The Venomous
Previous review: » Nightrage - Descent Into Chaos

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.