Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Dominion Gate
February 2006
Released: 2005, Regain Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Arto Lehtinen

The long time French power metallers Nightmare have released the fifth full length album from a loooong carer which started back in 1979. It seems like being a heavy metal band in France ain’t any easy job as the band has been on hiatus and faced more than a few setbacks during their years of the existence. However, the band’s main vocalist, Jo Amore, and the bassist Yves Campion haven’t given up, instead they keep going on. THE DOMIONION GATE is the debut release for the Swedish Regain Records whereas a couple of previous albums were put by Napalm Records.

The album starts off with a nice and melodic opening track titled “Temple Of Tears” with quickly played double drumming and chorus singing on the background. But the album ain’t the pure power metal throughout as songs like “Messangers Of Faith” and “Secrets Rules” definitely stand for pure traditional melodic metal and even remind me slightly of the same kind of the approach that can be heard on Dio’s albums. As a matter of fact, the band could have dropped a couple of songs off from the album - for example the mandatory ballad song titled “Haunting Memories” is quite unsuitable compared to the other melodic songs. Obviously one ballad oriented song on an album is a kind of normal choice for every band after all.

All in all Nightmare’s fifth opus offers a solid and highly guaranteed power metal delivery from the beginning to the end on these thirteen songs. Even Jo Amore’s English sounds surprising good in my ears and I am not able to recognize the French accent in his singing. Jo Amore handles the vocals from a wide range extremely well. It is kind of weird that the man’s services and abilities haven’t been used by other bands on their own releases as Jo Amore’s is a high quality and skilled metal singer indeed!

With this fifth opus the French Nightmare should increase their fanbase and attract people to get a hold of THE DOMINION GATE as the album presents the well played and produced power/trad metal.
Track Listing

1. Temple Of Tears
2. A Taste Of Armageddon
3. Messenger Of Faith
4. Secret Rules
5. The Dressmaker
6. Endless Agony
7. Paranormal Magnitude pt II
8. Circle Of The Dark
9. Haunting Memories
10. Heretic
11. The Dominion Gate
12. The Watchtower
13. K-141


Jo Amore - vocals
Alex Hilbert - guitars
Franck Milleliri - guitars
Yves Campion - bass
David Amore - drums

Other reviews

» The Dominion Gate
by Arto Lehtinen

» The Burden Of God
by JP

» The Aftermath
by Erich

» The Aftermath
by Waspman

» Dead Sun
by Erich

» Dead Sun
by John Haseltine

Next review: » Nightmare World - In The Fullness Of Time
Previous review: » Nightmare - The Burden Of God

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.