Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Nervous Impulse
Enough for Dementia
September 2010
Released: 2009, Self Released
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

Nervous Impulse are an up and coming Canadian death/grind outfit who are currently shopping their self released debut, ENOUGH FOR DEMENTIA. Taking cues from bands like Brutal Truth, Agoraphobic Nosebleed, and even a little Anal Cunt for good measure, ENOUGH FOR DEMENTIA offers up 10 solid tracks of spazztic delight.

The band delivers pretty standard death/grind – lots of blast beats, carpal tunnel inducing guitar riffs, and some truly visceral vocal work. But the execution is superb; even though the tunes run wild like a kid with ADD, the band always sounds like they’re in control and in sync. The tongue in cheek subject matter is also a welcome reprieve from the usual uber political or more-gore-soaked-than-you approach to the genre.

The songs rip by pretty quickly, no nonsense and no filler. Though the album is only 24 minutes long, I felt like I’d been dragged into an alley and beaten with trashcan lids by the end. And being the glutton for punishment that I am, I went back for repeated listens/bludgeonings. The production work on ENOUGH FOR DEMENTIA was handled by Hugues Deslauriers, who was also at the helm for Augury’s brilliant FRAGMENTARY EVIDENCE release last year. That being said, the overall mix and production values on the album are fantastic. A lesson to indie bands everywhere – the benefit of a quality producer cannot be overemphasized, and sometimes can make all the difference.

With ENOUGH FOR DEMENTIA, Nervous Impulse have released a debut that can stand proudly alongside established leaders in the genre. Thick, mean, and brutal, Nervous Impulse are the real deal. Check out the band’s website for more info on how to pick up ENOUGH FOR DEMENTIA.
Track Listing

2.Why Did you Shake Our Baby
3.Lowlife Jackass
4.Rockstars Faggotry
6.The Bells of Immorality
7.The Collapse of Evolution
8.Dead Jeremians
9.Blood on the Dance Floor
10.Pure Hate


Éric Fiset - Vocals
Vincent Malo - Lead Guitar, Bass
Rob Guimond - Rythm Guitar
Yan Chamberland - Drums

Other reviews

» Enough for Dementia
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Time to Panic
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Nervous Impulse - Time to Panic
Previous review: » Nerved - Off Line

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.