Featured Events

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Kiss of Death
October 2006
Released: 2006, Steamhammer/SPV/Playground Music
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Captain Lemmy and crew are back with KISS OF DEATH, the follow up to 2004’s INFERNO. As a Motörhead fan since the beginning of the 80’s, I have experienced both highs and lows with their output; since they release a CD every year, they tend to suffer from prioritizing quantity over quality. That said, you shouldn’t be surprised that my expectations for KISS OF DEATH were really high.

To be honest, every Motörhead fan pretty much knows what they’re going to get, and this album continues in the same tried-and-true path that Motörhead have followed for years. KISS OF DEATH has every necessary ingredient and sounds just as Motörhead should. Motörhead deliver metal in their trademark spirit. With this album, I think they are going to gain a lot of new fans. Just as they have in the past, they showcase their bluesy, punk, and rock’n’roll sides.

If the last album was a smaller masterpiece, KISS OF DEATH follows the lead. The album opens strongly with “Sucker”, and at that point you can already sense where this album is going.

Two songs that don’t really pass the mark are “Under the Gun” and “God Was Never on Your Side”, which are two mid-tempo ballads that Lemmy actually managed to pull of with his characteristically gravelly voice. There are a few more rock- and blues-based songs that don’t stand out either, and those can be considered the band’s weakest link.

A few of the true Motörhead tracks are “Trigger”, “Living in the Past”, “Sword of Glory”, “Be My Baby”, “Kingdom of the Worm”, and “Going Down”. Those are a few of the songs that really embrace what Motörhead is all about. As a fan of the band, you’re not going to be the least bit disappointed. As a whole, this is a great album that many of the older fans are going to love.
Track Listing

One Night Stand
Devil I Know
Under The Gun
God Was Never On Your Side
Living In The Past
Sword Of Glory
Be My Baby
Kingdom Of The Worm
Going Down


Lemmy Kilmister – lead vocals, bass
Philip Campbell – guitar
Mikkey Dee – drums

Next review: » Motorhead - Motörizer
Previous review: » Motorhead - Kiss of Death

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.