Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Mos Generator
Songs for Future Gods
March 2008
Released: 2007, Small Stone Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Over the years, Seattle has produced many great (and not so great!) bands. While the town is best known as the base of the grunge phenomenon that exploded in the ‘90s, a great number of metal bands have reared their heads in the land of flannel: Sanctuary, Nevermore, and Queensryche, War Babies, and MindFunk just to name a few. Now, the MindFunk’s drummer, Shawn Johnson has returned with a whole different beast: Mos Generator. Formed in 2000, the band has cut their on the indie circuit, self-releasing albums and making a general racket. Thankfully, all around rock fans Small Stone Records has picked up the band for their latest release, last year’s SONGS FOR FUTURE GODS.

Right from the opening riff of “Silver Olympus”, it’s obvious that Mos Generator is into Black Sabbath and ‘70s rock. It’s no surprise then that the rest of the album sees the band doing their damndest to meld the two together in a completely entertaining mixture. It’s no secret that I’m a sucker for this stuff, and from the get go, I was hooked on SONGS FOR FUTURE GODS. Whether it’s the lumbering space-nik doom of “Wizards of the Prophecy Pen” or the straight ahead rock jilted lover slam “Sleeping Your Way to the Middle”, Mos Generator keep you glued to your speakers.

The band doesn’t let up over the course of the album’s 10 tracks, keeping the rockin’ riffs coming at all times, allowing only brief respites within individual tracks, but never succumbing to common Quaalude-drip trap that many of their peers fall prey to. It’s a perfect balance, where even in a relatively straight rocker like the aforementioned “Sleeping Your Way to the Middle”, the band still manages to squeeze in a Tony Iommi-esque exploratory solo break. Brilliant.

Mos Generator are the real thing. They may not have been there in 1974, but hey, chances are neither were you. So jump in their time machine and travel to a more exciting time for rock – just watch out for the Atom Smasher on your way.
Track Listing

1) Silver Olympus
2) NandV
3) Son of Atom Smasher
4) Wizards of the Prophecy Pen
5) Into the Long Sleep
6) Yes My Lord
7) Lumbo Rock
8) Acapulco Gold
9) Sleeping Your Way to the Middle
10) Y’juana


Tony Reed: Vocals, Guitar, Wurlitzer
Shawn Johnson: Drums
Scooter Haslip: Bass

Other reviews

» Songs for Future Gods
by Waspman

Next review: » Moses, Alan & Pattison, Brian - Glorious Times: A Pictorial of the Death Metal Scene (1984-1991) (Book Review)
Previous review: » Mortyfear - Gods Skin

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.