Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Gods Skin
June 2008
Released: 2007, Darwin’s Scar Records/Firebox Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Mortyfear was originally formed under the name Mortifier in the dark woods of Finland in 1999. The original line-up produced three demos, but after that they had trouble maintaining a constant line-up, so when it was time to record their fourth demo the band decided to change their name and solidify their line-up.

The extremely heavy guitar riffs provide a thick, solid layer over which the rest of the instruments and black metal influences flow. The 9 tracks and 30 minutes of the album are run though furiously and it’s hard to even have the time to catch your breath before the album ends. Mortyfear also hasn’t forgotten to add melodies to their neck-breaking pace.

When GODS SKIN was over for the first time I couldn’t wait to put it on a second time and that’s a good sign. It’s difficult (if not impossible) to pick out the killer tracks, so I suggest you listen to the album and make up your own mind; I can promise you won’t regret listening to Mortyfear’s debut disc.

GODS SKIN embraces madness, evilness, brutality and aggression perfectly, and it’s a delight to hear a band that sounds as old-school but fresh as Mortyfear. This band is gonna go far in the future.
Track Listing

1. God’s Skin
2. Golgen Shower
3. Kingdom of Sperm
4. Blood Sperm Speed And Hate
5. Hands Of Blood
6. Punishment
7. Swallow The Gun
8. Herd Of Heretics
9. Pedophile Guards Of Paradise


Sami Kaste – lead vocals
Tapio Laitila – axe
Juha Peippola – axe
Olli Assola – bass, b-vox
Henri Yli – Rakko – drums

Other reviews

» Gods Skin
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Mos Generator - Songs for Future Gods
Previous review: » Mortuus - Grape Of The Vine

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.