Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Hacked Up For Barbecue/Zombie Apocalypse (Reissue)
February 2005
Released: 2004, Relapse Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Lord of the Wasteland

Mortician...the most misunderstood band in gore metal. Why are such poisoned arrows directed at a band whose prime directive is merely to amuse and disgust? The movie clips always keep me guessing, while the ultra-low frequency bass rumbles my guts and the song titles never fail to make me cringe. Yet where is the love for Mortician? Well, Relapse Records has shown some love by pairing the band’s debut, 1996’s HACKED UP FOR BARBECUE, with 1998’s now out-of-print ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE E.P. in one nice package. The CD itself is bursting at the seams with thirty four tracks and nearly eighty minutes of blood and guts, including two covers by Slaughter and Repulsion.

I won’t go into the songs themselves since this is a reissue but suffice it to say that long-time Mortician fans will be happy to snatch this up for the ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE tracks, while newbies wishing to explore the magical maniacal minds of Will Rahmer and Roger Beaujard have no better place to start than where it all beganon HACKED UP FOR BARBECUE. Don’t listen to the naysayers who have never “got” Mortician. These guys aren’t technical wizards with their instruments nor are they brilliant songwriters. They are just a couple of twisted movie geeks and sci-fi nerds who happen to play disgusting metal for the hell of it and this reissue shows how well they do it. They don’t take things seriously and neither should you.
Track Listing

1. Bloodcraving
2. Embalmed Alive
3. Cremated
4. Three On A Meathook
5. Brutally Mutilated
6. Deranged Insanity
7. Cannibal Feast
8. Blown To Pieces
9. Fog of Death
10. Brutal Disfigurement
11. Apocalyptic Devastation
12. Inquisition
13. Hacked Up For Barbecue
14. Abolition
15. Necrocannibal
16. Ripped In Half
17. Morbid Butchery
18. Decapitated
19. Drilling For Brains
20. Eaten Alive By Maggots
21. Witches' Coven
22. Worms
23. Annihilation
24. Mortician
25. Devoured Alive
26. Incinerated
27. Zombie Apocalypse
28. Slaughterhouse
29. Hell on Earth
30. Charred Corpses
31. Dissected
32. Blood Harvest


Will Rahmer—Vocals/Bass
Roger Beaujard—Guitar/Drum Programming

Other reviews

Next review: » Mortifier - Underground Music
Previous review: » Mortemia - Misere Mortem

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.