Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Mors Principium Est
The Unborn
December 2005
Released: 2005, Listenable Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Asassinkiller

2003 saw two of the best Melodic Death Metal releases of later years in the form of “An Epic Defiance” from Detonation, and “Inhumanity”, from the Finnish monsters Mors Principium Est. This year, and almost at the same time, these two bands released their sophomore releases, and as they did two years ago, these killed everything that has been released in between. Simply left them bleeding to death.

THE UNBORN has the feeling and emotion that lately has been so lost in Melodeath. It has deep and beautiful melodies. At the same time it is heavier than their debut release, so we could say that emotional parts are as heartful as they can be, and the aggressive parts heavier than a bulldozer running over a bulldozer.

All songs are killers, but if I had to pick favorite ones, they would definitely be the incredible opener The Harmony Remains, which has some top notch keyboard arrangements, Altered State of Consciousness one of the heaviest and pummeling songs here, and Megadeth´s cover Blood of Heroes (only released in the digipack version), which is great because it sounds a lot like an Edge of Sanity song that could have been released either in “The Spectral Sorrows” or “Purgatory Afterglow”. Also check out Fragile Flesh. This one has a very Children of Bodom feel where the guitars and keyboards are having a major shredding rest.

With THE UNBORN you cant´go wrong in the production department. The drums are powerful and the guitars extremely heavy and clear. They are courtesy of the infamous Tico-Tico Studios, and I can assure you that this is the best sounding release that has ever been unleashed there.

Finland has many many bands that are about to or that have already made a big breakthrough into the mainstream. Nightwish, Children of Bodom (damn, I loved their new one, but something tells me this is the last great release of the band), HIM or the soon to be talked about Lullacry. But what I can tell you, is that none of this bands feel as true and genuine as this Finnish killing machine that bled their hearts in THE UNBORN.

After all has been said and done, I just wonder: How can this release be called THE UNBORN? Specially after it was born in such a bombastic way.
Track Listing

1. Pure (MP3)
2. The Harmony Remains
3. Parasites of Paradise
4. Two Steps Away
5. Altered State of Consciousness (MP3)
6. Spirit-Conception
7. The Unborn (MP3)
8. Fragile Flesh
9. Pressure
10. The Glass Womb

11. Blood of Heroes
(bonus for digipack.
Written by Megadeth)
12. No More
(bonus for digipack)


Jori Haukio - Guitars, Programming, Djembe
Ville Viljanen - Vocals
Jarkko Kokko - Guitars
Teemu Heinola - Bass
Mikko Sipola - Drums
Joona Kukkola - Keyboards

Other reviews

» The Unborn
by Asassinkiller

» Liberation=Termination
by Lord of the Wasteland

Next review: » Mortal Decay - The Blueprint for Blood Spatter
Previous review: » Mors Principium Est - Liberation=Termination

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.