Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Into The Valley Of The Moonking
November 2009
Released: 2009, Steamhammer
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

One of the original Seventies Progressive rock bands from England, some critics are somewhat bewildered but very pleased to see Magnum (somewhat like UFO) experiencing a well deserved resurgence in popularity. One could argue that this style of music is painfully outdated to young, modern fans and yet the band of survivors, continue to impress critics and delight audiences the world over. How? The answer is quality songs combined with high concepts and excellent presentation.

INTO THE VALLEY OF THE MOONKING is the bands 14th album and the core team since 1972 of Tony Clarkin on guitar and Bob Catley on vocals is still in place. Catley is at the top of his game, his expressive voice being able to handle a number of moods and scenarios with ease. The elegant and sophisticated compositions of Magnum are seeing the band enjoy renewed chart success for the first time since the 1980’s.

The term Prog Rock has in a sense evolved over the years to mean crazy-time signatures and extreme virtuosity. Magnum, musically, has very little similarity with for example Dream Theater or Opeth, however the arrangements and subtleties of the dozen tracks here are surely to delight more sophisticated music fans.
Track Listing

1. Intro
2. Cry To Yourself
3. All My Bridges
4. Take Me To The Edge
5. The Moon King
6. No One Knows His Name
7. In My Minds Eye
8. Time To Cross That River
9. If I Ever Lose My Mind
10. A Face In The Crowd
11. Feels Like Treason
12. Blood On Your Barbed Wire Thorns


Bob Catley-Vocals
Tony Clarkin-Guitars
Mark Stanway-Keyboards
Al Barrow-Bass
Harry James-Drums

Next review: » Magnum - On The Thirteenth Day
Previous review: » Magnum - Escape From The Shadow Garden

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.