Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Morbid Angel
Illud Divinum Insanus
July 2011
Released: 2011, Seasons of Mist
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Whether you are a Morbid Angel fan or not, you will have most likely watched the parody video of Hitler describing the new album Illud Divinum Insanus, and while everything that Mr Hitler is saying it true, it is this change in direction and diversity that makes Morbid Angel’s new record brilliant. Old school Morbid Angel fan’s, may hate it because the band no longer sound like “The best death metal band ever” But the fact is, metal heads can be so blind some times, and if Morbid Angel want to experiment in the industrial side of the music, then they should keep on releasing albums like it, because Illud Divinum Insanus is a full force amazing new album.

Illud Divinum Insanus basically sounds like Rob Zombie meeting Combichrist in a cage fights and having Rammstein cremate their dead remains. Yes, it still sounds fucking brutal like previous Morbid Angel albums, but the fact that it isn’t all balls to the wall crushingly heavy metal, makes it ideal for people who are not into their Brutal Shit to listen to. Illud Divinum Insanus is a call to arms for people who want to get into Morbid Angel. It’s easily accessible and with tracks like ‘To Extreme’ and ’10 More Dead’ great to mosh to!

All the guys in Morbid Angel are amazing musicians. They have mastered brutal death metal, and by striving into industrial metal have broadened their horizons. Whether it be from the gut wrenching blast beats to the low aggressive vocals of David Vincent, Illud Divinum Insanus is full of killer music, which not only sounds amazing on a well mastered and well produced album, but no doubt sounds killer when tracks such as ‘Existo Vulgoré’ and ‘RADIKULT’ get incorporated into Morbid Angel’s live set.

Alas, Illud Divinum Insanus will never be as great and influential as Altars of Madness, Blessed are the Sick and Gateways to Annihilation despite how great this change in musical style is.

Morbid Angel fans don’t give a toss about how good these new songs are, they are more bothered about getting back their Precious Morbid Angel. Well, the fact is these new tracks are fucking amazing, and for a band who’s only trying this sub-genre for the first time, they put the likes of NIN and Marilyn Manson to shame. This is the modernisation of Morbid Angel so get use to it, for no doubt it is here to stay!

It took eight years for Illud Divinum Insanus to spawn forth out of the minds of the world’s greatest death metal pioneers, and by god, it was worth the wait for such a different take on what the mighty Morbid Angel do best.

Review by Matthew Seddon
Track Listing

1.Omni Potems
2.Too Extreme
3.Existo Vulgoré
4.Blades for Baal
5.I am Morbid
6.10 More Dead
7.Destructos Vs. the Earth / Attack
9.Beauty meets Beast
11.Profundis – Mea Culpa


David Vincent – bass guitar, vocals
Trey Azagthoth – guitar
Destructhor – guitar
Tim Yeung – drums

Next review: » Morbid Angel - Illud Divinum Insanus
Previous review: » Morbid Angel - Heretic

Morbid Angel
Illud Divinum Insanus
July 2011
Released: 2011, Season of Mist
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: Demonator

The kings are dead - such is the pervading sentiment amongst the boatload of less than complimentary reviews that flooded the internet moments after the eighth installment in the Morbid Angel discography first entered the public domain. Not for these disgruntled pundits the Floridian quartet's apparently daring experimentation - nor even were they enamored with the record's more traditional fare. But then again, nine years in stasis and with the weight of expectation only amplified following frontman David Vincent's return to the fold, the question begs as to whether this was ever going to be a record met with anything other than gross disappointment?

So, let's be clear from the get-go: the rumors you heard were true - this isn't a great album. By Morbid Angel standards its downright piss-poor at times and its hokey, intentionally nostalgic intro does nothing to raise expectations. Nor indeed does the interesting but ultimately flawed and grossly out of place industrial foray, "Too Extreme!" instill any confidence in the band's ability to raise the bar for death metal in the same manner their earlier work had done. But to flippantly cease proceedings at this stage would be to forgo the pleasure of arguably the record's two finest cuts in "Existo Vulgore" and "Blades For Baal" - both seeped in the precision blasts and brutality upon which Morbid Angel's reputation was built. It also means that you'd miss out on the chance to really see them embarrass themselves on "I'm Morbid" and, to a marginally lesser degree, "10 More Dead". The former plays out like a half-assed stab at channeling Pantera's southern-fried groove, while the latter is a poor relation (at best) to "Where the Slime Live".

It could well be because of how cringe-worthy the aforementioned two tracks are, that makes "Destructos VS The Earth" sound halfway listenable. Another one of the disc's leftfield moments, it's mash-up of vintage Morbid Angel riffing and swathes of hardcore electronica that actually gels rather well. In stark contrast "Radikult" appears to have been pilfered directly from Marilyn Manson's cutting room floor; truly if you weren't yet ready to accept that Morbid Angel's comeback isn't all it was hacked up to be, then this may well be the moment you join the chorus-line of detractors. That the album limps to its unsatisfactory conclusion on the back of the disjointed mess that is "Profundis - Mea Culpa", simply rubs salt into already-festering wounds.

There are moments of sheer genius scatter-bombed across ILLUD DIVINIUM INSANUS and Trey Azagtoth remains a helluva guitarist as much as David Vincent's voice still sounds gloriously commanding. But if this is all they could come up with in nine years, they may as well have waited a little longer, because in hindsight, this record will surely be branded a blemish on a reputation that was once synonymous with quality.
Track Listing

1. Omni Potens
2. Too Extreme!
3. Existo Vulgoré
4. Blades for Baal
5. I Am Morbid
6. 10 More Dead
7. Destructos vs. the Earth / Attack
8. Nevermore
9. Beauty Meets Beast
10. Radikult
11. Profundis - Mea Culpa


David Vincent – bass guitar, keyboard, vocals
Trey Azagthoth – guitar
Destructhor – guitar
Tim Yeung – drums

Next review: » Morbid Angel - Illud Divinum Insanus - The Remixes
Previous review: » Morbid Angel - Heretic

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.