Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

December 2017
Released: 2017, Napalm
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Gothic metal masters Moonspell are back with quite possibly their most prestigious piece of work to date. 1755 is a concept album that has not only been a true work of art for the band, but a reflection to the history of their native land.

On the 1st of November, 1755 Lisbon was hit by a powerful earthquake. Also known as The Great Lisbon earthquake, it nearly devastated the entire Kingdom of Portugal with consuming fires and tsunamis that took a toll on the population as well as the land.

1755 is sung in their native tongue Portuguese. If you are fluent, may your journey back in time begin. If you need to brush up on your Portuguese, I recommend you do. This is one of those albums, from start to finish, that one can sense the emotion that went into not only the music but also the lyrics. It makes me want to learn the language to follow along. As fitting as it is to do the album in Portuguese, I can almost see an English sung one in the future. (Please DO NOT quote me on that!)

1755 shines. There are bits and pieces of their past couple releases. It is a bit heavier though. And with all its heaviness it still incorporates a lot of fusion and percussion as part of the story that is being told. The orchestral parts of the music herein are placed throughout but as not to take away from the heaviness. Only to add to the passion of the tale that is being brought forth.

Current fans will love 1755. For those unfamiliar with Moonspell, check this one out. There is no need to know the language. You can feel the story being told through the music. A feat only a few bands are capable of.
Track Listing

1. Em Nome do Medo
2. 1755
3. In Tremor Dei
4. Desastre
5. Abanão
6. Evento
7. 1 de Novembro
8. Ruínas
9. Todos os Santos
10. Lanterna dos Afogados (Os Paralamas do Sucesso cover)
11. Desastre (Spanish version)


Fernando Ribeiro - Vocals
Ricardo Amorim - Guitar, Keyboards
Aires Pereira - Bass
Pedro Paixão - Keyboards, Samples, Programming, Guitar
Miguel Gaspar - Drums



Next review: » Moonspell - Alpha Noir
Previous review: » Moonsorrow - Voimasta Ja Kunniasta

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.