Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Songs of Requiem
June 2006
Released: 2005, Dope Entertainment Music Company
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Oh man, a lot of people are going to not like this one. Back in 2001 I reviewed the debut disc (WAKE UP THE MOON) by this Korean black met…excuse me. Yes, I’m going to call this black metal, but for those who care about such things, this is what you folks would call Norsecore. Got it? OK? Good, I’ll continue. Anyway, I reviewed Moonshine’s debut disc and thought it was a good, if unspectacular slab of keyboard-laced black metal, with a strong Dimmu Borgir influence. Time went by, and not a peep was heard from them. I actually thought they were no more. However, now they’re back with this sophomore disc, and I couldn’t be happier.

SONGS OF REQUIEM picks up where the debut left off, put cranks the production and song-writing quality WAY up from before. Based on the previous paragraph, you already know if Moonshine is for you or not, but the fact of the matter is, this album is jam-packed with some great blackened metal. The symphonic leanings of before have been toned down, although the keyboards is still abused a little too much. This time the music is much more aggressive and to the point, focusing more on the buzzsaw guitars and Amon’s howled vocals. For those keeping score, he’s more of a growler than a screecher. This is just a more “go-for-the-throat” type disc.

What’s more, the songs are definitely catchier this time around. I know this type of music will never be popular, but if the radio actually played songs like “The Ghost Who Mourns” and “Domesticated Creatures” they could catch on.

After all is said and done, your liking of SONGS OF REQUIEM will depend solely on your tolerance for catchy melodic black metal. Even though there is absolutely nothing necro about this release, it is a highly enjoyable slab of metal. What more can you ask for?
Track Listing

1) Ouvrir La Porte
2) The Other Side of Me
3) Hallucinating with Shadows
4) The Ghost Who Mourns
5) Endless Fall
6) Domesticated Creatures
7) The Song of Retrospect
8) Dying in Agony
9) Nocturnal Halls
10) Lady in Black
11) The Memorable Tide


Amon: Vocals, Guitars
Giga: Drums, Screams
Pain: Bass, Keyboards

Other reviews

» Wake Up The Moon
by Waspman

» Songs of Requiem
by Waspman

Next review: » Moonshine - Wake Up The Moon
Previous review: » Moonlyght - Progressive Darkness

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.