Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Audio Injected Soul
October 2004
Released: 2004, Nuclear Blast/Sound Pollution
Rating: 3.8/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Mnemic is yet another upcoming band from Denmark and THE AUDIO INJECTED SOUL is their second album, their debut album MECHANICAL SPIN PHENOMENA having been released last year. Mnemic describes their music as heavy on thrash riffs with progressive elements, modern synthesizers and electronic samples that create both a hard and spacey atmosphere. The band had decided to describe their sound as “fusion future metal.” These Danish guys have been compared with bands like Meshuggah, Fear Factory and Strapping Young Lad but Mnemic doesn’t copy these bands. Instead they have independent ideas and a self-contained style, at least according to the accompanying bio I received.

2004 began pretty good for Mnemic. They opened the Roskilde Festival in their home-country Denmark (as the first metal band ever) and they also did shows at Rock am Ring and Rock im Park in Germany. They were support to Fear Factory through Germany and Austria. Their song “Ghost” was featured in the movie “Alone In The Dark.” In other words, Mnemic has been kind of busy.

Once again Mnemic have gone to Antfarm Studio in Aarhus, Denmark to record their album and once again used Tue Madsen as producer. Madsen has created a tight and fresh soundscape updated to the 21stt century. The production sounds aggressive yet melodic in certain parts. You may have to listen to the album a few times before you can fully appreciate it but it’s worth the time it takes.

To me Mnemic’s music sounds sometimes incredibly aggressive and brutal and sometimes slower and melodic. To describe their music I can best compare them to the Swedish band In Flames. The music is very technical and sometimes it borders on melodic thrash metal. I wouldn’t call it “fusion future metal” at all. I think we have enough different metal genres as it is, so I won’t take part in inventing any new ones.

Well after that comes the question whether I like the album or not. All I can say is that this is completely brilliant with very little to complain about. As I wrote earlier it takes a few times before you can appreciate it, but please take the time because I guarantee that you won’t regret it.

I’m not a fan of the band Duran Duran but I have to admit that Mnemic has made a really good cover of the song “Wild Boys” on this album. They have managed to make it their own song. It’s not often the cover is better than the original but in this case it’s actually so. I strongly suggest that fans of technical/melodic thrash metal buy this album. The best tracks are “Dreamstate Emergency”, “Deathboc”, “Sand Vs. Normal”, “Jack Vegas” and “Wild Boys.”
Track Listing

1. Dreamstate Emergency
2. Dour
3. Illuminate
4. Deathbox
5. Sane Vs. Normal
6. Jack Vegas
7. Mindsaver
8. Overdose In The Hall Of Fame
9. The Silver Drop
10. Wild Boys


Michael Bogballe – lead vocals
Mircea Gabriel Eftemie – guitar
Rune Stigart – guitar
Tomas “Obeast” Koefoed – bass
Brian “Brylle” Rasmussen – drums

Next review: » Mob Rules - Among The Gods
Previous review: » Mnemic - The Audio Injected Soul

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.