Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Adios...Puta Madres...
January 2009
Released: 2009, 13th Planet Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

Thirteen live tracks recorded over the course of Ministry's 75 city "C U Latour" document the final live offering from industrial metal's most prolific and important act. As is usually the case with Ministry and live albums (IN CASE YOU DIDN'T FEEL LIKE SHOWING UP, BURNING INSIDE: THROUGH THE YEARS 89-92 and SPHINCTOUR), ADIOS... focuses exclusively on the last three albums released by Ministry, making it more of a historical representation of the band's last days than a trip down nostalgia boulevard.

Longtime Ministry frontman Al Jourgensen is joined onstage by an all star cast featuring guitarists Tommy Victor (Prong) and Sin Quirin (Revolting Cocks), keyboardist John Bechdel (Prong), Static X's Tony Campos on bass, drummer Aaron Rossi also from Prong as well as a guest appearance by erstwhile Fear Factory vocalist Burton C. Bell.

"Let's Go" from the 2007 "The Last Sucker" album opens with some live sampling and keyboard programming before blasting into orbit with a pungent mix of fried and distorted guitars, bass and drums. As is usually the case Al or "Alien" Jourgensen (depending on the mood) has heavy effect on his trademark raspy monotone vocals.

"No W" taken from the band's "Houses Of The Mole" still comes across as scathing and venomous in a live setting even in today's Post-Bush environment. With all of the constant samples and programming necessary for a Ministry live show it is hard to fathom how the band seems to remain so cohesive and tight in a live setting. I imagine the soundcheck for any of these live shows was a challenging process.

As the disc comes to a near close we are treated to the Grammy-nominated "Lieslieslies" before saying a final "Adios" with closing number "Khyber Pass" the transcendental, middle eastern flavored tune taken from the 2006 RIO GRANDE BLOOD album which focuses on the whereabouts of Bin Laden and questions whether he might be hiding at Bush's ranch.

Ministry fans that enjoyed this release should also take note that "ADIOS...PUTA MADRES..." will be available in early May featuring fifteen live tracks from the "C U Latour" as well as a 45 minute rockumentary documenting everything from rehearsals to the final European shows of the tour.
Track Listing

1. Let's Go
2. Watch Yourself
3. Life Is Good
4. The Dick Song
5. The Last Sucker
6. No W
7. Waiting
8. Worthless
9. Wrong
10. Rio Grande Blood
11. Senor Peligrio
12. Lieslieslies
13. Khyber Pass


Al Jourgensen - Guitar, Vocals
Tommy Victor - Guitar
Sin Quirin - Guitar
John Bechdel - Keyboards
Tony Campos - Bass
Aaron Rossi - Drums

Next review: » Ministry - From Beer To Eternity
Previous review: » Ministry - Adios...Puta Madres (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.