Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

December 2004
Released: 2004, Metal Heaven / Sound Pollution
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Millenium comes from Florida and was originally established under the name Eyewitness. As Eyewitness they released two pretty anonymous albums in 1995 and 1996. Their current name was set in 1996 and the year after they released their self-titled debut album. In 1999 came the follow up ANGELFIRE and a few member changes where singer Todd Plant left and was replaced by the very skilled singer Jorn Lande from Norway. Lande sings on the album HOURGLASS from 2000 and on the same album the very famous keyboard player Don Airey guests and also Dan Stokke from the Norwegian band TNT. Lande left the band in May 2002 and moved on to the power metal super-group Masterplan. Millenium took back the original singer Todd Plant.

Plant has been singing backing vocals on albums with Kamelot and Savatage and Ralph Santolla has been guitarist in Death, so it’s pretty experienced musicians involved in Millenium. By the time JERICHO was going to be recorded it was the rhythm section’s turn to go through changes. Mark Prator (Iced Earth, Demons & Wizards) came in on drums, while Steve McKenna (Ten) and Tere Berthe (Blackhawk) came in on bass.

JERICHO was recorded in Florida and England in, for me, anonymous studios. I don’t know who produced it but the album was engineered by Pete “Pewee” Coleman (AC/DC, Paradise Lost, Gary Hughes). Whoever the producer is he/she has done a terrific job in the production area. The sound is heavy and leaves a lot of space for lead vocals and guitars.

The info provided to me with the CD describes the music as simply heavy metal and nothing more. I can agree with the heavy metal part but I would add that it borders on melodic hard rock sometimes. Santolla and French have a lot of guitar duels between them and Plant is high up in the mix. As usual in this music genre we have a lot of ballads.

Millenium has put ten tracks on JERICHO and as always I only have a promo copy so the only thing I have is the titles. But I can tell you that these ten tracks are very strong songs that consist of a lot of tempo changes. The tempo isn’t fast its more slow and grinding and it sounds really good. They have added a re-recording of the song “Heresy” now more faster/hotter and more heavy metal based this time.

This album is really for all of you out there who enjoy well played pure heavy metal. This new acquaintance was a positive surprise for me, the only negative things are the ballads that can be a bit boring but otherwise this album is really good.

Another proof of the members skills are that Santolla was asked by Iced Earth to join them on the GLORIOUS BURDEN tour and French is a member of Circle II Circle which is a new project by ex-Savatage member Zak Stevens. Millenium have future plans of going out on tour at the end of 2004 as soon as the Iced Earth tour has ended and after that it’s a new album recording that waits for the guys.

The songs of the highest standard are “My Saving Grace”, “Heaven Awaits”, “My War”, “Wheel Of Fortune” and “Let There Be Light”.
Track Listing

1. My Saving Grace
2. Heaven Awaits
3. My War
4. Heresy
5. Morning Star
6. Above This World
7. Enemy Of The Sun
8. Wheel Of Fortune
9. Let There Be Light
10. Burning Again


Todd Plant – lead vocals
Ralph Santolla – guitar
Shane French – guitar
Steve McKenna – bass
Tere Berthe – bass
Mark Prator – drums

Other reviews

» The Best Of … And More
by Anders Sandvall

» Jericho
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Millenium - The Best Of … And More
Previous review: » Militia - Released

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.