Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Incubus - Chapter Seven
April 2008
Released: 2008, Massacre Records/Sound Pollution
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Hamburg-based Metalium is launching their brand new album titled INCUBUS – CHAPTER SEVEN; their seventh album to date. Metalium is a very productive band that has toured through Europe and appeared at numerous festivals and through the years they’ve earned themselves a very solid and true fanbase. According to my bio, this new album is the band’s most diverse yet, but I hear the same typical German heavy/power melodic metal they usually play. The lack of originality doesn’t take away the fact that the music is well-executed, skilled and of course extremely catchy with easily-remembered choruses.

All of the musicians are talented and they throw out fast guitar riffs, hammering drums and manage to take the songs a step forward with a dynamic and broad vocal range. But despite the musicians’ skills there are some problems with the music. INCUBUS – CHAPTER SEVEN sounds just like any other heavy/power metal album. The album lacks inspiration and originality that would distinguish this as a Metalium album.

The band’s earlier albums have been themed albums and this one is no different. This time it’s not about a corny fantasy story, but more serious subjects like the relationship of religion and the church. The only change the band has made to the music is that it’s a bit darker than previous albums and they have also somewhat slowed down the tempo.

If you’re into Metalium then you already know what you’re getting and despite the changes I still think it sounds like any of their other work. There aren’t many surprises in INCUBUS – CHAPTER SEVEN and it’s a mediocre album that won’t make Metalium any bigger or smaller.
Track Listing

1. Trust (intro)
2. Resurrection
3. Gates
4. Incubus
5. Take me Higher
6. Never Die
7. At Armageddon
8. Sanity
9. Meet your Mother
10. Hellfire


Henning Basse – lead vocals
Lars Katze – bass
Michael Ehre – drums
Matthias Lange – guitar
Tolo Grimalt – guitar


Next review: » Metalium - Metalium - State of Triumph: Chapter 2
Previous review: » Metalium - Hero-Nation -Chapter Three

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.