Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Metal Church
Generation Nothing
December 2013
Released: 2013, Rat Pak Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

GENERATION NOTHING is Metal Church’s 10th studio release. Since their self titled release in ’84 the band has gone through many member changes and a couple of breakup/reunions. The current lineup is 100% different than the BLESSING IN DISGUISE one, which was the first Church CD I ever bought (one of my first CD’s ever) but the music is similar in style and formula.

For myself who was never one of their fans, but did like the music I heard. I never followed their career in detail but I was well aware of their existence and my brain absorbed some history. When I stumbled across the news that they had a new album coming I became interested. My first listen was through an advance stream for the press and I really liked what I had heard. It was like the late 80’s were back all over again. The music was good solid Metal with some elements of Thrash. Disc opener “Bulletproof” and the title track are two standout’s on the album. While they are not drastically different than the rest of the album they do have something about them that make them more memorable. There are however a couple of tracks that are slightly slower. One of them is “Hits Keep Coming” which combines both the mellow and heavy very well. The nice clean intro before it kicks in to the mid-tempo rocker. The mellowness is heard throughout but it doesn’t stop Monroe from really belting it out in places.

Despite putting out some great material over the years Metal Church just never got the recognition they deserved. With GENERATION NOTHING this should change. While it’s nothing groundbreaking, it is a good solid album that is enjoyable to listen to all the way through.
Track Listing

1. Bulletproof

2. Dead City

3. Generation Nothing

4. Noises in the Wall

5. Jump the Gun

6. Suiciety

7. Scream

8. Hits Keep Coming

9. Close to the Bone

10. The Media Horse


Kurdt Vanderhoof – Guitar

Ronny Munroe – Vocals

Rick Van Zandt – Guitar

Steve Unger – Bass guitar

Jeff Plate – Drums



Next review: » Metal Church - Live
Previous review: » Metal Church - Dynamo 1991 (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.