Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

No Signs of Wisdom
September 2007
Released: 2007, Metal Heaven/Border Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

This release is the band’s third and a lot has happened since last year when their last studio album came out. Manitou has a new label and they have also taken away the progressive elements in their music and now play traditional heavy metal. You can clearly hear influences from bands like Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Dio, Ozzy, or Tarot. In my opinion the band did just the right thing when they focused on a more traditional heavy metal approach. Guitarist Antti Lauren has also been added and he brings in more heaviness to the band with his steady and edgy riffs. Lead singer Philaja still has an amazing voice that fits this kind of music even better and the rhythm section is as strong as ever.

The 9-track album is 45 minutes and feels perfect, even though you could wish for a few more tracks when it sounds this good. Manitou has really taken the traditional heavy metal into the 21st century with style and the band has got every element in place to make an ass-kicking album. The only “negative” thing I can come up with is the closing track “August Sky” which isn’t the best song they did. It’s 11 minutes long and jammed with longer progressive parts which make the song a little boring. Besides that low-point song there isn’t much to argue about and the band has really been making progress by taking away the progressive parts in their music. NO SIGNS OF WISDOM is clearly a hit album and if you’re a fan of traditional heavy metal I suggest you check it out. This album is close to perfection and it’s gonna be fun to hear whether the guys can manage to make an even better album next time.

Killer tracks on this amazing album are “This Indolence”, “Dread of the Freaks”, “No Signs of Wisdom”, “Harbinger”, “Polluted World”, and “Some of the Sins Revealed”.
Track Listing

1. In This Indolence
2. Dread of the Freaks
3. No Signs of Wisdom
4. The End Within
5. Harbinger
6. Polluted World
7. Some of the Sins Revealed
8. The Loon
9. August Sky


Markku Pihlaja – lead vocals
Markus Vanhala – guitar
Antti Lauren – guitar
Ismo Laukkanen – bass
Matti Suhonen – drums

Next review: » Mankind - Demo
Previous review: » Manitou - Deadlock

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.