Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Metallic Assault
November 2009
Released: 2009, Area Death Productions
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

The Colombian 2-man speed metal project band, Camilo Montoya on vox and guitar (also in Alcoholic Force) and Yeison Orozco on drums, are making their head-stomping and neck-breaking metallic assault on this 9-track effort that - even very fittingly has been baptized with the title, METALLIC ASSAULT.

Camilo and Yeison have seemed to be in a frenzied speed metal mood while creating songs for this opus. The music being described on the album, is pure speed metal - highly energetic, simple, 80s fashioned and hitting straight to the point. It´s a good mixture of a couple of first Maiden albums, Iron Angel, Solitaire, some Sceptre (that later was to become Agent Steel), some early Exciter and probably even many other 80s acts that were heavily possessed by speed metal back in those days. Both Camilo and Yeison undoubtedly know their stuff, and it is relatively easy to hear from their songs on METALLIC ASSAULT that the guys are true fans of the old speed metal genre. Even their song titles strongly remind of that simplistic and shameless 80s style of many bands of the same ilk, and the song titles of their stuff. "Banging till the End", "Seek, Destroy" and "Thrashing Fast and Loud" are naturally all very cliche-filled song titles, but they alone speak for all that what Legacy is all about, more or less. Wish they could have brought the vocals a bit more up to the forefront on this recording because now it sounds like Cami could have sung his vocal parts inside some thin barrel, or some other similar, interesting place.

Anyway, for old school speed metal maniacs and other speed freaks, here´s one album that I could warmly recommend you to check out. Nothing new under this moonlight, but still a well done, old-fashioned slab of speed metal. Get it to dig it!
Track Listing

01. Intro
02. Winds of Destruction
03. Hellcommand
04. Time to Kill
05. The Beast
06. Banging till the End
07. Witchhammer
08. Seek, Destroy
09. Sentence of Death
10. Thrashing Fast and Loud


Cami o Montoya - Vocals, guitar and bass
Yeison Orozco - Drums

Next review: » Legend - Anthology
Previous review: » Legacy - Legacy

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.