Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Lair Of The Minotaur
Evil Power
March 2010
Released: 2010, The Grind-House Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Alan Gilkeson

Their 4th album happens to be the debut release for their new label, The Grind-House Records. Lair Of The Minotaur have taken this opportunity to change up their game a bit, take a different angle on their writing and arrangements, developing the more hooky and melodic aspects of their sound. The first three records were dynamic in their own right, pummeling riffs all over the place, full of raw down tuned power and unapologetic, very Metal. However, their latest opens up some new doors.

At first spin EVIL POWER may come across a bit simpler than their previous efforts, but it's only because the songs seem to stick so easy to the head. Ultimately LOTM have grasped a bit of that Punk Rock influence that has been the underbelly of a lot of their stuff and brought it to the forefront. The riffs are blunt and unambiguous, brutally straightforward, while the choruses and hooks have grown in spades, developed into chanting anthems, memorable and rich. Songs like 'We are Hades' and 'Attack The Gods' are fine examples of their foray into anthemic interludes, while other tunes like 'Let's Kill These Motherfuckers' bring the Punk vibe front and center.

There aren't many three piece bands around anymore, at least any with real substance, and for what it's worth, thought stylistically a bit different, they have the cohesiveness of band like The Rods, mixed with the veracity of HellHammer, sort of like Cream with some balls. EVIL POWER is a tremendous record that has the unique quality of sounding like something you've heard a million times before, and something you've never heard before. It is squarely Metal, yet has a sonic distinctiveness. A really good record.
Track Listing

1. Attack the Gods
2. Let's Kill These Motherfuckers
3. Riders of Skullhammer, We Ride the Night
4. Evil Power
5. Goatstorm
6. Hunt and Devour
7. Metal Titans
8. Blood From the Witch's Vein
9. We Are Hades
10. Death March of the Conquerors
11. The Violent Iron Age of Man


Steven Rathbone - Guitar / Vocals / Synth
Nate Olp - Bass
Chris Wozniak - Drums

Other reviews

» Evil Power
by Alan Gilkeson

Next review: » Lake Of Tears - By The Black Sea
Previous review: » Laethora - March of the Parasite

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.