Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

June 2011
Released: 2011, Nightmare Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Bill LoNero probably isn’t a name that is familiar to most metal heads and, while he may not have the notoriety of names like Yngwie Malmsteen, Joe Satriani, or Steve Vai, he is an exceedingly talented guitarist in his own right. In fact, he’s created his own style of music called “guitarcore” and is slowing gaining notice as six-string master. With one previous album under his own full name, and another under the band moniker of LoNero, this guitarist is starting to turn some heads.

Unfortunately for me, LoNero’s music is strictly instrumental, a genre of music I typically ignore. However, one listen to JFL and its clear that there is a high level of talent on board. The band claims that their music is more than just basic riffs used as a bed for mindless soloing, and the songs on the album bear this out. What you get on JFL is essentially rock/metal songs played, with melodic guitar solos in place of the vocals, and it’s an interesting mix to be sure. It certainly makes the album more engaging than your average instrumental wank-fest. Songs like “Fat Tat” inject a punk vibe into the music to vary it up even more.

Of course, when you listen to a guitar-oriented instrumental album, you come for the solos, and LoNero is more than up to the task. His style is very fluid and musical, equally comfortable with a sing-along melody line as with a technical masterpiece. Guitar aficionados will not be disappointed.

You can consider my 3/5 rating essentially a non-rating, as I just don’t dig instrumental music. I will say though, that LoNero have a good thing going and are obviously talented and passionate about their music. So, if I WERE going to play an instrumental album, JFL would be right at the top of the list.
Track Listing

1) Eden
2) Little Bastard
3) Fat Tat
4) Oblivion
5) Discard
6) Downside
7) New Song
8) Good Luck
9) Giant
10) King of Damage


Bill Lonero: Guitar
Brandon Hayes: Guitar
Mike McKaigg: Bass
Marco Bicca: Drums

Other reviews

by Waspman

Next review: » Lonewolf - Army Of The Damned
Previous review: » London Calling - You`re So Lucky

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.