Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

August 2010
Released: 2010, Pragmatic Releases
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: JP

Ohio’s Locusta have released their very promising and entertaining debut album. Weighing in the heavier end of the Metal spectrum, Locusta ply a sort of Power / Death type of combination with just hints of Black and even Doom. It’s a short, punchy intro to the band with 10 tracks clocking in at about 47 minutes with most songs sitting comfortably in the four-minute range.

There are not too many frills on the album, that is too say, it’s not a laborious concept album, no long intros, orchestral set-pieces, it’s not pretentious at all they just get on with the business of demonstrating some fairly face-ripping metal. There is lots and lots of guitar, lots of solos, which is always a good thing.

Generally the pace is pretty fast, but not just blast-beats but a real sense of motion…the songs go places. There is enough variety in the compositions that it breaks up the speed, a quick bridge or slower section before heading out on the highway again. A cut like ‘Mutiny’ is a good example where they throw in a brief acoustic passage near the end adding some more character to the song. The vocals are pretty gruff, certainly in the Death Metal category (if you have to categorize) but they are somewhat audible and discernible.

The second last track, ‘Vlad Tepes’ seems almost out of place with a far more traditional, guitar driven, up-tempo power metal type instrumental. It’s still a great cut but seems a bit uncharacteristic of the rest of the album. There are some decent progressive parts in the songs, there is no formula to the songs by any means.

The band seem very talented, and I feel in this day and age in a very crowded and competitive genre, you have to be pretty killer musicians just to be able to compete. Song-writing and performance go hand in hand and these guys execute some great songs with ease and some flair. Very promising and a band to watch.
Track Listing

1.War Of Knaves
2.Masters Ethereal
3. Mutiny
4. Death Or Devotion
5. 2012
6. Betrayed By The Sea
7. Dusk At The Mausoleum
8. Into The Tomb
9. Vlad Tepes
10. Locusta


Brad Deerhake-Vocals
Peter Hughes-Guitar
Dru Silver-Guitar
Scott Hyatt-Bass
Simon Tracey-Drums

Other reviews

» Locusta
by JP

Next review: » Logar`s Diary - Book I: Tostros
Previous review: » Locus Titanis Funus - Castrus Lacrima

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.