Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Lacuna Coil
July 2016
Released: 2016, Century Media Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Italian gothic metal lightning rods Lacuna Coil have undergone significant turmoil since the release of their last album, 2014’s BROKEN CROWN HALO. The band witnessed the defection of both guitarists and their drummer, all three of which had been with the band since 1998. The would be enough to make a lot of bands crumble, but Lacuna Coil decided to soldier on, recruiting American drummer Ryan Folden and letting bassist Marci Coti Zelati stretch his wings on keyboards and guitar. To help, the band got a number of musicians to record guitar solos as well.

So where does that leave us with DELIRIUM, and Lacuna Coil circa 2016? To be honest, in much the same place as they were before. DELIRIUM is a simply a continuation of the band’s post-gothic / nu metal sound. Either you enjoy it or you don’t; nothing on DELIRIUM is going to change your mind. The band is increasingly vocal-driven as Cristina Scabbia and Andrea Ferro deliver the hooks over top of grinding, chugging guitars that are oddly riffless. Keyboards still play an enhancement role in the band’s music but the down tuned chug is still the band’s “go-to”. It’s all played very well but the vocals continue to be the band’s highlight. It’s catchy, some of the songs are truly memorable, and you almost can’t help but enjoy it.

Look, we all kinda wish the band would return to the more “pure” sound of COMALIES and UNLEASHED MEMORIES but that is just not going to happen. Fortunately, the band recovered from the disaster that was KARMACODE and if you were still on board after that one, then you will enjoy DELIRIUM. Lacuna Coil writes the music the like and the are obviously not going to change for anyone; at some point you have to just accept it even respect it. The band’s legions of fans will love this and I’m sure that’s all they really care about.
Track Listing

1. The House of Shame
2. Broken Things
3. Delerium
4. Blood, Tears, and Dust
5. Downfall
6. Take Me Home
7. You Love Me ‘Cause I Hate You
8. Ghost in the Mist
9. My Demons
10. Claustrophobia
11. Ultima Ratio


Cristina Scabbia: Vocals
Andrea Ferro: Vocals
Marco Coti Zelati: Bass, Guitar, Keyboards
Ryan Folden: Drums



Next review: » Lacuna Coil - Karmacode
Previous review: » Lacuna Coil - Dark Adrenaline

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.