Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Lock Up
Necropolis Transparent
August 2011
Released: 2011, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Demonator

As so-called supergroups go, Lock Up's two previous studio outings (1999's PLEASURES PAVE SEWERS and 2002's HATE BREEDS SUFFERING) still rank right up there with the best of them. For rather than simply trying to shoehorn the contrasting styles of their primary musical concerns into a metallic mash-up of sorts, Lock Up has always been about playing a style of music that simply had no place in its members other outfits. The latter of their two previous releases was particularly glorious; as devoid of frills as it was literally bursting at the seams with DIY punk aesthetics and grind hi-jinks as infectious as an outbreak of chlamydia in a hippy commune.

It should come as no surprise to learn that NECROPOLIS TRANSPARENT follows a similar tact, pounding home a savage sermon across no less than seventeen calculated, succinct blasts of extremity that owe as much to the Discharge as it does to the obliterating grindcore of Nasum. In particularly fine fettle is Tomas Lindberg, returning after the prolific At The Gates farewell tour to deliver perhaps his most spirited performance since SLAUGHTER OF THE SOUL. Journeyman drummer, Nick Barker, offers a stellar turn as well - clocking up speeds on the likes of "Brethren of the Pentagram" that border on inhuman, whilst displaying enough restraint to underline the vehemence of the mid-tempo groove that dovetails "Accelerated Mutation".

At its heart though, NECROPOLIS TRANSPARENT is the Shane Embury show - and that's not a bad thing. Criminally underrated for years in my opinion, his songwriting prowess is tattooed over the record's entirety and its consistency as well as the fact that he's reportedly knee-deep in production of the forthcoming Napalm Death opus, begs the question as to whether the man has any limits to his creativity.
Track Listing

01. Brethren Of The Pentagram
02. Accelerated Mutation
03. The Embodiment Of Paradox And Chaos
04. Necropolis Transparent
05. Parasite Drama
06. Anvil Of Flesh
07. Rage Incarnate Reborn
08. Unseen Enemy
09. Stygian Reverberations
10. Life Of Devastation
11. Roar Of A Thousand Throats
12. Infiltrate And Destroy
13. Discharge The Fear
14. Vomiting Evil
15. Stigmatyr
16. Through The Eyes Of My Shadow Self
17. Tartarus


Shane Embury – Bass
Nicholas Barker – Drums
Tomas Lindberg – Vocals
Anton Reisenegger – Guitar

Other reviews

» Pleasures Pave Sewers
by Nathan Robinson

» Necropolis Transparent
by Demonator

» Demonization
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Demonization
by Peter Atkinson

Next review: » Lock Up - Pleasures Pave Sewers
Previous review: » Lock Up - Demonization

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.