Free Metal E-Mail

New Users Sign Up

Connect. Befriend. Follow.

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

September 2014
Released: 2014, Candlelight Records USA
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Two things that have kept me into metal for so many years are: the finding of so many new bands and material, and the ambition to be all the more adventurous and experimental. The latter of these is certainly evident on USBM outfit Krieg’s seventh album: TRANSIENT. Krieg have been renowned for broadening their listenership to fans of Crust Punk, Grindcore and Anarcho-Punk which can be seen here in its clearest form. TRANSIENT is a pleasing mix of a lot of good influences on the original Black Metal world which will remind new listeners of the roots of the genre.

Opening track: ‘Order of the Solitary Road’ opens the buzzing lo-fi of the album which will be pleasing to fans of crust and anarcho. If you want something DIY and delivers a keen agenda of misanthropy and the loss of trust in humanity, then ‘Return Fire’ and ‘Circling the Drain’ are very pleasing. All these tracks hold a punk rock structure of power chords over double bass pedals and the tempo changes into traditional black metal every now and again which will be welcoming to new listeners and pleasing to the old school crowd.

‘Winter’ is also a good track covering a well received theme in the black metal world, however its repetition did make me think the band were running low on ideas. But ‘Walk With Them Unnoticed’ proved me wrong sounding like Fenriz doing a duet with Nachmystium. US black metal is on the rise in popularity and this is another good reason to love the scene.

The group have also alluded to a pretty black sense of humour with song titles: ‘Atlas With a Broken Arm’ and ‘Ruin our Lives’ which both detail the band’s anger at the sheepish behaviour of modern life. You don’t need to look far to see that Krieg have a cynicism towards capitalism and their home country’s attitude to its people and the rest of the world. For anyone who is pissed off at the current way of life in the west, this piece of experimental black metal will tell you you’re not alone. Another good piece to keep the dark and musky underworld of Black Metal alive. Good job Krieg.

Review by Demitri Levantis
Track Listing

1. Order of the Solitary Road
2. Return Fire
3. Circling the Drain
4. To Speak with Ghosts
5. Atlas with a Broken Arm
6. Time
7. Winter
8. Walk with them Unnoticed
9. Ruin Our Lives
10. Home
11. Gospel Hand


J. Dost –Drums
N. Jameson – Vocals
A. Poole – Guitars
D. Sykes – Bass
D. Zdanavage – Guitars

Other reviews

» The Isolationist
by Demonator

» Transient
by UK Team

Next review: » Krisiun - Assassination
Previous review: » Krieg - The Isolationist

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.