Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Box Set
January 2004
Released: 2001, Mercury
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Lord of the Wasteland

Christmas always brings a wave of greatest hits collections, career retrospective box sets and other contractual obligation releases that make perfect gifts for hungry music fans. For years, Kiss had been promising "the mother of all box sets" to its fans. Finally, they have delivered this 5 CD mammoth and it was definitely worth the wait. Available in three different versions, THE BOX SET finally makes available many recordings that fans were only able to hear on badly dubbed, umpteenth-generation bootlegs, and some songs that have never been available before at all. Of course, the requisite studio and live versions are thrown in as well. Overall, this is an excellent retrospective of the band's 30 year career and even includes some recordings from the pre-Kiss years, going as far back as 1966.

The packaging varies depending on which version you purchase. The basic version will set you back around $120 CDN and comes in a black, encyclopedia-sized case, which houses 5 CD's and a 120-page soft-cover booklet. The limited edition "Deluxe Guitar Case" version runs around $250 CDN, and it comes in a 19" x 9" x 3" replica guitar case with red velvet-lined insides, the same 5 CD's, the same 120-page book but in hard cover form, and a note from the band. For the fan where money is no object, the "Premium Gold Edition" costs around $1,300 CDN, but along with the 5 CD's and hardcover book, you also get an official RIAA certified copy of Kiss' breakthrough ALIVE! gold record award fitted in a full-size 46" x 16" x 4" custom guitar case, along with special reissue ALIVE! handwritten liner-notes from the band individually printed in gold ink on parchment paper. Personally, I sprung for the Deluxe Guitar Case version and found it on eBay for only $110 US and it was still in the original plastic. Not too shabby! If it's just the music you're after, save your money and stick with the regular version. If you're a HUGE Kiss fan, treat yourself and go for the guitar case just for bragging rights. I love the packaging and the guitar case looks really cool.

Despite umpteen greatest hits, best of’s and other collections, THE BOX SET finally houses all the band’s classic studio and live highlights together in one comprehensive package. “Black Diamond,” “Parasite,” “Rock And Roll All Nite,” “Detroit Rock City,” “Beth,” “I Was Made For Lovin’ You,” “I Love It Loud,” “Lick It Up,” “Heaven’s On Fire,” “Forever,” “Unholy” and “Psycho Circus”…these are just the tip of the iceberg! Along with over 60 studio tracks from their storied career, the band has included a slew of demos that have never been released before. On the first disc, the master recordings of the long-bootlegged Wicked Lester sessions, as well as their first demo that led to their first album are nice to hear in such cleaned up form. Some early pre-Kiss demos are a collector’s dream. Also of note is the only live performance of the track, “Acrobat,” which would go on to become “Love Theme From Kiss” on the first record. The second disc contains the original demo of “God Of Thunder” with Paul Stanley on vocals as well as several Gene Simmons demos, most of which are, unfortunately, completely forgettable. The third and fourth discs focus on the albums of the time and are expendable in terms of rare stuff, with only five tracks in total being previously unreleased. Of these, “Time Traveler” featuring Paul Stanley and “Ain’t That Peculiar” are the most interesting. “Time Traveler” is a demo from 1986 that could easily have fit onto their CRAZY NIGHTS album, while “Ain’t That Peculiar” is some rare input from perhaps Kiss’ greatest drummer, Eric Carr. Disc five finishes up the final years of the band and has a track that is special to me—“Rock and Roll All Nite”—that was recorded right here in Vancouver on New Year’s Eve 1999/2000…and I was there!! This track was supposed to be part of ALIVE IV that was being recorded that night, but unfortunately got scrapped in favor of the pairing with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. “It’s My Life” is a scrapped track from 1998’s PSYCHO CIRCUS album that had been on the bootleg circuit for almost 20 years before finally being recorded properly by the band for that album.

WHEW…94 tracks covering 33 years of Kisstory is a lot to take in. There is over 6 hours of material here and the extensive book features track-by-track notes, so plan on taking an entire day to absorb the whole package. This is the best representation that I can think of for one of the most influential and enduring bands in the history of hard rock music. Of course, there are songs that I would have included and others I would not but overall, Kiss has given the fans the best they have to offer with this box set. You wanted the best, you got the best!
Track Listing

Disc One (1966-1975)

1. Strutter (Demo)
2. Deuce (Demo)
3. Keep Me Waiting (Wicked Lester)
4. She (Wicked Lester)
5. Love Her All I Can (Wicked Lester)
6. Let Me Know (Demo)
7. 100,000 Years (Demo)
8. Stop, Look To Listen (Demo)
9. Leeta (Demo)
10. Let Me Go, Rock 'N' Roll (Demo)
11. Acrobat (Live)
12. Firehouse (Demo)
13. Nothin' To Lose
14. Black Diamond
15. Hotter Than Hell
16. Strange Ways
17. Parasite
18. Goin' Blind
19. Anything For My Baby
20. Ladies In Waiting
21. Rock And Roll All Nite

Disc Two (1975-1977)

1. C'mon And Love Me (Live)
2. Rock Bottom (Live)
3. Cold Gin (Live)
4. Watchin' You (Live)
5. Doncha Hesitate (Demo)
6. Mad Dog (Demo)
7. God Of Thunder (Demo)
8. Great Expectations
9. Beth
10. Do You Love Me?
11. Bad, Bad Lovin (Demo)
12. Calling Dr. Love
13. Mr. Speed (Demo)
14. Christine Sixteen
15. Hard Luck Woman
16. Shock Me
17. I Stole Your Love
18. I Want You (Soundcheck)
19. Love Gun (Demo)
20. Love Is Blind (Demo)

Disc Three (1976-1982)

1. Detroit Rock City
2. King Of The Night Time World (Live)
3. Larger Than Life
4. Rocket Ride
5. Tonight You Belong To Me
6. New York Groove
7. Radioactive (Demo)
8. Don't You Let Me Down
9. I Was Made For Lovin' You
10. Sure Know Something
11. Shandi
12. You're All That I Want, You're All That I Need (Demo)
13. Talk To Me (Live)
14. A World Without Heroes
15. The Oath
16. Nowhere To Run
17. Creatures Of The Night
18. War Machine
19. I Love It Loud

Disc Four (1983-1989)

1. Lick It Up
2. All Hell's Breaking Loose
3. Heaven's On Fire
4. Get All You Can Take
5. Thrills In The Night
6. Tears Are Falling
7. UH! All Night
8. Time Traveler (Demo)
9. Hell Or High Water
10. Crazy, Crazy Nights
11. Reason To Live
12. Let's Put The X In Sex
13. Hide Your Heart
14. Ain't That Peculiar (Demo)
15. Silver Spoon
16. Forever (Single Version)

Disc Five (1992-1999)

1. God Gave Rock 'N' Roll To You II
2. Unholy
3. Domino (Demo)
4. Every Time I Look At You
5. Comin' Home (Unplugged)
6. Got To Choose (Unplugged)
7. I Still Love You (Unplugged)
8. Nothin' To Lose (Unplugged)
9. Childhood's End
10. I Will Be There
11. Psycho Circus
12. Into The Void
13. Within
14. I Pledge Allegiance To The State Of Rock & Roll
15. Nothing Can Keep Me From You
16. It's My Life
17. Shout It Out Loud (Live)
18. Rock And Roll All Night (Live)


Paul Stanley—Vocals/Guitar
Gene Simmons—Vocals/Bass
Ace Frehley, Vinnie Vincent, Mark St. John, Bruce Kulick—Guitar
Peter Criss, Eric Carr, Eric Singer—Drums

Next review: » Kissin Dynamite - Addicted To Metal
Previous review: » Kiss - Symphony (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.