Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Joe Stump
The Essential Shred Guitar Collection
July 2010
Released: 2009, Magic Circle Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

If you are a shred guitar enthusiast like me, then you will want to get your hands on THE ESSENTIAL SHRED GUITAR COLLECTION from world renowned neo-classical shred wizard Joe Stump. Joe is a disciple of Yngwie, Uli, Blackmore, Shenker and Hendrix and has established himself at the forefront of today's top six stringers on previous releases such as the popular "Night Of The Living Shred" not to mention his work in Reign of Terror and most recently HolyHell, the female fronted symphonic metal band.

THE ESSENTIAL SHRED GUITAR COLLECTION opens with Joe's interpretation Tchaikovsky's classical piece "Swan Lake" appropriately dubbed "Attack Of The Killer Swans". With a power metal backdrop, Joe takes this familiar melody and adds the kind of technical prowess and bravado which has won him such acclaim in the past. "Night Of The Living Shred" is track five and is comletely over the top, bursting with speed runs and arpeggios a million notes a minute and very melodic. "Never Forgotten" showcases Joe's acoustic classical guitar technique before taking the listener's heads off with the heavy "The Sorcerer's Apprentice". I have no idea what "R.B.N.C.S.F.No. II" is an acronym for, but it should stand for "completely insane explosion of fretboard mastery" because that's how it sounds. THE ESSENTIAL SHRED GUITAR COLLECTION comes to a close with "The Devil's Fiddler" which builds atmospherically and dynamically before letting loose a hellish demon dance of neo-classical swagger.

I would definitely recommend this collection to fans of power metal, shred an d neo-classical styles. For an all instrumental compilation, there is enough variety on display to consistently shake things up and continue to sound fresh. I also think Joe Stump works best as a solo artist rather than an accompaniment in other bands and this kind of collection further showcases what the man is all about.
Track Listing

1. Attack Of The Killer Swans
2. In For The Kill
3. Paganini's Revenge
4. Je Taime
5. Night Of The Living Shred
6. Never Forgotten
7. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
8. Demon's Eye
9. R.B.N.C.S.F.No. II
10. The Dark Gift
11. Rapid Fire Rondo
12. Hurricane X
13. The Devil's Fiddler




Next review: » Joel Hoekstra's 13 - Dying To Live
Previous review: » Joe Stump - The Dark Lord Rises

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.