Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Joe Stump
Shredology/Midwest Shredfest
February 2006
Released: 2005, Leviathan Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Pataklysm

Joe Stump’s two favourite guitarists are Ritchie Blackmore and Yngwie Malmsteen and Stump’s neo-classical metal sounds a little too much like the latter. A lot of Yngwie “rip-offs” have popped up over the years and Joe Stump is yet another.

The first disc of this double-disc set is entitled SHREDOLOGY, which contains fifteen tracks chosen by Stump from his solo releases and one unreleased bonus track called “The Drill.” Starting with his 1993 album, GUITAR DOMINANCE, to his 2004 release GUITAR MASTER, SHREDOLOGY portrays Stump at his best throughout his career. Whenever you hear of a guitar instrumentalist inspired by Blackmore and Malmsteen, we expect the “shred rock” along with a couple ballads, which is exactly what we get on SHREDOLOGY. Stump is a professor at The Berklee School of Music and teaches us a thing or two about being a guitar god. “In For The Kill” is a perfect song to introduce this disc with a great melody followed by razor-sharp speed picked minor scales. “Never Forgotten” begins with an acoustic guitar playing a very somber song then a second guitar comes in with a very eerie sound. “Hurricane X” has a bluesy feel to it, very catchy. Stump should appeal to all musicians out there!

The second disc of this set is entitled MIDWEST SHREDFEST. Stump is very consistent live and can actually pull off all of the shredding you hear on his GUITAR GOD release. “Paganini’s Revenge” is my song on this disc as we hear Stump rework Paganini’s “24th Caprice.” Classical composers like Paganini and Vivaldi are able to live on through Stump’s music.

Nowadays, I prefer Joe Stump over Yngwie Malmsteen, so up with Stump, down with Yngwie.

KILLER KUTS: In For The Kill, Paganini’s Revenge
Track Listing

1. In for the Kill
2. Jetaime
3. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
4. Never Forgotten
5. Night of the Living Shred
6. Demon's Eye
7. R.B.N.E.S.T. No. 2
8. Rapid Fire Rondo
9. Pharaoh's Delight
10. 2001: A Shred Odyssey
11. Bullet Train
12. Seance
13. Mind Games
14. Hurricane X
15. The Drill (Bonus Track)

TRACKLIST : Midwest Shredfest
1. Prelude - Demon's Eye
2. Wrecking Machine
3. Paganini's Revenge
4. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
5. Thrill of the Chase
6. The Dark Gift
7. Guitar Cadenza/Rapid Fire Rondo
8. Encore Shred Jam




Next review: » Joe Stump - The Dark Lord Rises
Previous review: » Joe Stump - Revenge Of The Shredlord

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.