Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Unlocking The Past
February 2007
Released: 2007, Frontiers Records/Zink Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

This is the second album by the man with the enormous voice, Jorn Lande. The previous album was comprised of re-recordings and re-mixed version of his older pre-Masterplan songs. On UNLOCKING THE PAST he does cover versions of his favorite old songs and according to the bio the songs are unreleased cover songs and additional bonus tracks for previous Jorn albums as well as a few newly-recorded covers only for this album. The songs that have only been re-mixed are “Burn” and “The Day the Earth Caught Fire”, which are both taken from his solo debut STARFIRE. Another remastered song is “On and On” which should have been featured on the band Millenium’s cover album several years ago. Other acts covered are MSG, Thin Lizzy, Black Sabbath, Rainbow, and Deep Purple. The covers of those songs have also added more depth, intensity, and energy with Jorn’s explosive voice.

A song that really stands out is “Fool for Your Loving” where Jorn sounds almost exactly like David Coverdale. Jorn stays pretty true to the original, except for the slightly slower tempo as well as the updated and more metal sound. “Cold Sweat” is a really heavy version of the old Thin Lizzy song where Jorn again stays pretty close to the original. I’m not a huge fan of Deep Purple, but Jorn does magic to “Burn” and “Perfect Strangers”. “Kill the King”, originally by Rainbow, is another diamond Jorn has polished. In “Feel Like Making Love” Jorn shows us what an amazing singer he is. The first verse is also done with only an acoustic guitar. All of above songs raise the bar of the album quite a bit.

Once again Jorn produced the album by himself and has again done a great job. He’s managed to stay pretty close to the originals, but he has done it in his own way and he has made the songs his own. There’s hardly anything remotely negative about this album. Jorn has done it again. The Norwegian with the magical voice has once again blown my head off. The only thing left to wish for is a new studio album. Many hours of great music awaits you on this album. What can go wrong with Jorn behind the mic?
Track Listing

On and On (MSG)
Fool For Your Loving (Whitesnake)
Cold Sweat (Thin Lizzy)
Lonely Is The World/Letters From Earth (Black Sabbath)
Burn (Depp Purple)
Feel Like Making Love (Bad Company)
Kill The King (Rainbow)
Perfect Strangers (Deep Purple)
Naked City (Kiss)
The Day The Earth Caught Fire (City Boy)


Jorn Lande – lead vocals
Tore Moren – guitar
Ronnie Le Tekrö – guitar
Ralph Santolla – guitar
Shane French – guitar
Jörn Viggo Lofstad – guitar
Willy Benediksen – drums
Stian L Kristoffersen – drums
John Macaluso – drums
Oliver Hanson – drums
Morty Black – bass
Steinar Krokmo – bass
Espen Mjöen – bass
Manfred Binder – bass
Ronny Tegner – keybords
Don Airey – keybords

Next review: » Jorn - World Changer
Previous review: » Jorn - Traveller

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.