Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Out To Every Nation
May 2004
Released: 2004, AFM Records/Playground Music
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

The great Norwegian singer, Jorn Lande, is back with his third solo album. His first solo album “STARFIRE” was released 2000 and the follow up “WORLDCHANGER” in 2001. Jorn has been in the music business for a long time. He’s been with bands/projects like Vagabond, The Snakes, Beyond Twilight, ARK and Nostradamus. Nowadays, when he’s not releasing solo albums, he’s the singer for Masterplan who released their debut last year. After a lot of touring during 2003, Masterplan took a break allowing Jorn to use the opportunity to release a solo album on his new label.

On this album Jorn has surrounded himself with strictly famous and skilled musicians like Magnus (bass) from HammerFall and Jörn and Stian from Pagan’s Mind. I don’t know who the producer (who by the way has done a brilliant job) is or what studio they’ve used, however Fredrik Nordström did the mix.

If you expect this to sound like Masterplan, you’re dead wrong because this is not power metal at all. I think it’s more of a combination of heavy metal and melodic hard rock influenced by progressive metal. Jorn is high up in the mix, the music has also some slighter tendencies to sound a bit bluesy/classic hard rock at some point. I think Jorn really shows what a great voice he has, something that don’t show as much in Masterplan. In some vocal sentences he sounds exactly like David Coverdale (lead singer in Whitesnake) and you almost think that it’s Coverdale himself that sings. The cover is awesome with Jorn standing and holding up the Norwegian flag.

“YOUNG FOREVER” starts off the album and it’s a track with some heavy metal influenced by melodic hard rock. At the end you can hear more progressive influences with a longer guitar solo and some repeating of the chorus, maybe a little too much repeating. “OUT TO EVERY NATION” and “SOMETHING REAL” could easily pass as Whitesnake songs. The music is really like Whitesnake with melodic hard rock and blues influences combined with choirs in the chorus. “LIVING WITH WOLVES” starts with drums/guitars and Jorn. It also sounds like he has used a string section that plays before everyone starts off the song. After the intro, the tempo rises and it turns into a melodic hard rock track. Jorn is at the top of the sound/mix with his amazing voice. Later in the song the string section returns. Another melodic hard rock track is the mid tempo “VISION EYES”. It’s melodic hard rock to about the middle of the song and then it turns into more of a blend of progressive heavy metal. “ONE DAY WE WILL PUT OUT THE SUN” is again melodic hard rock – nothing more or less. Here it sounds like he has used a string section again. “BEHIND THE CLOWN” is the first ballad on the album. This very beautiful and slow ballad provides a nice break from the rest of the album. “ROCK SPIRIT” is a melodic hard rock track with blues influences and a sing a long friendly chorus. “THROUGH DAY AND NIGHT” is a song that shifts between heavy metal and melodic hard rock. “WHEN ANGEL WINGS WERE WHITE” starts with a very slow keyboard intro that almost becomes a ballad. The song has also has a progressive touch and it shifts between a ballad and an up tempo ballad. This song closes Jorn’s third solo album.

The songs that are going to be released as singles are apparently “YOUNG FOREVER”, “OUT TO EVERY NATION” and “LIVING WITH WOLVES”. Personally I think that every song on the album has huge potential to go far as singles and there’s not a bad song on the whole album. Jorn really dazzles with his extremely broad vocal range on this album. This well written material, played by competent musicians is also very well produced. What more can I say, Mr. Lande makes me speechless and it would be really nice if Jorn would go out on tour on his own before Masterplan takes up his time. For all of you who wait for the second album by Masterplan (coming later this year), this album is a great substitute.

Labels: and
Track Listing

Young forever
Out To Every Nation
Something Real
Living With Wolves
Vision Eyes
One Day We Will Put Out The Sun
Behind The Clown
Rock Spirit
Through Day And Night
When Angel Wings Were White


Jorn Lande – lead vocals
Jörn Viggo Lofstad – guitar
Magnus Rosén – bass
Stian Kristoffersen – drums
Ronny Tegner – keyboard

Next review: » Jorn - Out To Every Nation
Previous review: » Jorn - Lonely Are The Brave

Out To Every Nation
December 2004
Released: n/a, AFM
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Year-end wrap-up: Each of the last few years to wrap up the year I have picked a theme for my reviews for December. This year due to the overwhelming number of CD’s that deserve exposure, recognition and commentary I am going to resort to quantity over quality. I usually try to give as much attention to each CD with extensive commentary however this month’s reviews (perhaps unfortunately) will be short and sweet and much more in the style of traditional magazine reviews where space restrictions are an important factor. (ie. Less detail) I apologize in advance to readers who expect much more detailed reviews. Please check the reviews archives as many of my colleagues have written excellent detailed commentary of many of these CD’s. I hope the large number of quick comments will help guide you making some of those important year-end CD purchase decisions. Happy Holidays and see you in January. JP

It’s easy to see why Mr. Lande was scooped up by Yngwie, later Masterplan and why Ark is respected despite being a lesser known entity. His voice is a shinning light that recalls days when a performer could survive on his skill as a singer alone. He is in league with such guys like Glenn Hughes, Joe Lynn Turner and so on, guys who have real talent. His third solo work is a masterwork and he is backed by some of the best, guys from Hammerfall and Pagan’s Mind. He has range and power, grit and crunch when needed but can also be smooth should the need arise. His album is easily heaviness enough to be classified as ‘metal’ but has many classic, melodic hard rock sensibilities that come through in the lyrics and some of the arrangements. If you are not familiar with his work I strongly encourage you to get this disc as a fine introduction to his stellar talent in singing and songwriting.
Track Listing

1. Young Forever
2. Out to Every Nation
3. Something Real
4. Living with Wolves
5. Vision Eyes
6. One Day We Will Put Out The Sun
7. Behind The Clown
8. Rock Spirit
9. Through Day And Night
10. When Angel Wings Were White


Jorn Lande-Vocals
Jorn Viggo Lofstad-Guitar
Magnus Rosen-Bass
Stian Kristoffersen-Drums



Next review: » Jorn - Out to Every Nation
Previous review: » Jorn - Lonely Are The Brave

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.